The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from PR Newswire

Results of the Annual General Meeting of Sasol Held on 25 November 2011

Friday, November 25, 2011

Results of the Annual General Meeting of Sasol Held on 25 November 201106:43 EST Friday, November 25, 2011JOHANNESBURG, South Africa, Nov. 25, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Sasol shareholders are advised that the results of the business conducted at the annual general meeting held on Friday 25 November 2011 in Parktown, Johannesburg, South Africa (including the percentage of total number of shares voted) are as follows:Annual general meeting1.1. The annual financial statements of the Company, including the reports of the directors, audit committee and auditors for the financial year ended 30 June 2011 were presented.1.2. Mr J E Schrempp, Mr C Beggs, Mr M J N Njeke and Ms V N Fakude retired by rotation at the meeting and were re-elected individually for a further term of office in terms of Articles 75(d) and 75(e) of the Company's Memorandum of Incorporation ("Sasol's MOI"):DirectorsForAgainstAbstainJ E Schrempp96.47%3.13%0.40%C Beggs99.47%0.13%0.40%M J N Njeke95.38%4.22%0.40%V N Fakude99.42%0.18%0.40%1.3. The three directors, Mss T H Nyasulu and K C Ramon and Mr H G Dijkgraaf who retired in terms of Article 75(i) of the Company's MOI, and were thereafter re-appointed as directors by the board of directors of Sasol ("the Board") in accordance with Article 75(h) were elected individually for a further term of office:DirectorsForAgainstAbstainT H Nyasulu96.87%2.70%0.42%K C Ramon99.43%0.14%0.42%H G Dijkgraaf98.86%0.72%0.42%1.4. The director appointed by the Board during the course of the calendar year, Mr D E Constable retired at the annual general meeting, but was elected for a further term of office in terms of Sasol's MOI:DirectorsForAgainstAbstainD E Constable99.46%0.14%0.40%1.5. KPMG Incorporated was automatically re-appointed as auditors of the Company until the conclusion of the next annual general meeting and it was noted that the Mr C H Basson would be the individual registered auditor who will undertake the audit of the Company for the financial year ending 30 June 2012.1.6. The members of the audit committee, Mr C Beggs, Dr M S V Gantsho, Mr H G Dijkgraaf and Mr M J N Njeke were elected individually for the ensuing financial year in terms of sections 94(4) and 94(5) of the Companies Act, 2008 (the Act), read with Regulation 42 of the Companies Regulations, 2011:DirectorsForAgainstAbstainC Beggs99.50%0.10%0.40%M S V Gantsho99.49%0.10%0.40%H G Dijkgraaf99.50%0.10%0.40%M J N Njeke95.35%4.23%0.41%1.7. Special Resolution number 1 approving the revised annual emoluments payable by the Company with effect from 1 July 2011 to non-executive directors of the Company, was approved:ForAgainstAbstain97.17%2.67%0.16%1.8. A non-binding advisory endorsement on the company's remuneration policy for the year ending 30 June 2012 was obtained:ForAgainstAbstain64.38%35.42%0.19%1.9. Special Resolution number 2 to authorise the board to provide loans or other financial assistance to subsidiaries and juristic persons that the company directly or indirectly controls, subject to the provisions of section 45 of the Act and the JSE Limited Listings Requirements (the listings requirements), was approved: ForAgainstAbstain98.01%1.90%0.10%1.10. Special Resolution number 3 to authorise the board to provide loans or other financial assistance to any person and/or corporation that is or becomes related or inter-related to the company and/or to a member of such a related or inter-related corporation and/or to a person related to such a corporation, subject to the provisions of section 45 of the Act and the listings requirements, was approved: ForAgainstAbstain95.79%4.11%0.09%1.11. Special Resolution number 4 to authorise the board to provide loans or other financial assistance to The Sasol Inzalo Public Facilitation Trust, subject to the provisions of Sasol's MOI and section 44 of the Act, was approved: ForAgainstAbstain99.00%0.33%0.67%1.12. Special Resolution number 5 to authorise the board, in terms of the authority granted in Article 36(a) of Sasol's MOI, to approve the general repurchase by the Company, or by any of its subsidiaries, of the Company's securities, subject to compliance with the requirements of Sasol's MOI, section 48 of the Act and the listings requirements, was approved:ForAgainstAbstain99.87%0.04%0.08%1.13. Special Resolution number 6 to authorise the board to approve the purchase by the Company, of its issued securities from a director and/or a prescribed officer of the Company, and/or person related to a director or prescribed officer of the company subject to the provisions of Sasol's MOI, the Act, the listings requirements and the JSE Limited rules, was approved:ForAgainstAbstain97.57%2.20%0.23%1.14. Ordinary Resolution number 1 to authorise the amendment of the trust deed of The Sasol Inzalo Foundation to increase the contractual ceiling of any dividend declared in respect of the ordinary shares in the company held by the Sasol Inzalo Foundation, was approved:ForAgainstAbstain98.91%0.04%1.05%Sasol Investor RelationsTel.: +27 (0)11 441 3321 / 3745SOURCE Sasol