The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from Business Wire

Mentor Graphics Announces 24th Annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards Program Winners

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Mentor Graphics Announces 24th Annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards Program Winners15:00 EDT Tuesday, October 16, 2012 WILSONVILLE, Ore. (Business Wire) -- Continuing its tradition of promoting and recognizing printed circuit board (PCB) design excellence, Mentor Graphics Corporation (NASDAQ:MENT) today announced winners of its 24th annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards. Started in 1988, this program is the longest running competition of its kind in the electronic design automation (EDA) industry. It recognizes engineers and designers who use innovative methods and design tools to address today's complex PCB systems design challenges and produce industry-leading products. Industry experts judged entries from around the world in six categories representing a wide variety of industries. The PCB industry expert judges included Happy Holden, director of electronics technologies, GENTEX Corporation; Gary Ferrari, technical support director, FTG Circuits; Pete Waddell, president of UP Media, publisher of Printed Circuit Design & Fab/Circuits Assembly magazine; Andy Kowalewski, senior interconnect designer, AdvantagePCB; Charles Pfeil, engineering director, Mentor Graphics; and Rick Hartley, senior principal engineer, Avionics Division of L-3. Also this year an honorary judge was included: Dr. Russell F. Henke, high-tech business consultant since 1996 and contributing editor since 2003, and founder of the original TLA program. “With 47 years in electronics, I've learned what it takes to make a circuit and PCB board function precisely as it should, especially in this very high-speed world of today. The screaming edge rates drive us into the need for impedance control and high-power integrity, the likes of which we've not seen before,” stated Rick Hartley, senior principal engineer, Avionics Division of L-3 and a judge for this year's competition. “I have never given a score to a design as high as the one I ranked as the overall winner—it's just unheard of, how good that design is! Overall, I am amazed at how terrific almost every design was this year.” 2012 Technology Leadership Award WinnersCategory: Best Overall DesignCompany: Selex Galileo, UK Design team: Simon Hawkes, Mark Butt, Kelly Perryman Using: Expedition Enterprise Category: Computers, Blade & Servers, Memory Systems1st place: Fujitsu Technology Solutions, Germany Design team: Andreas Schaefer, Peter Kastl, Andreas Neumann, Mario Lanteri, Markus Wicher, Andreas Titz, Peter Bräu, Benjamin Zeller, George Emanuel Valceanu Using: Expedition Enterprise 2nd place: Samsung Electronics, South Korea Design team: MiKyoung Nam, Sungho Jung, Myung-Hwa Jung, Chunglyol Lee Using: Board Station XE Category: Consumer Electronics & Handhelds1st place: Qualcomm, USA Design team: Larry Paul, Byron Coleman, Brad Davis, Bruce Fischer, Andy Lejman Using: Board Station XE 2nd place: TP Vision Singapore Design team: Richard Hoong, Looi Lai Yin, Tan Li Li, Ng Kim Yan Using: Board Station XE Category: Industrial Control, Instrumentation, Security & Medical1st place: Emerson Control Techniques, USA Design team: Michael Weinberg, Robert Cottell Using: Expedition Enterprise 2nd place: CiBoard Electronic, Germany Design team: Michael Schwitzer, Thomas Blasko Using: Expedition Enterprise Category: Military & Aerospace1st place: Aselsan, Turkey Design team: Sefika Ozkal Piroglu, Murat Karadeniz, Inanc Dogru, Hakan Cimen, Serkan Ozyurek, Halil Ibrahim Yaslak Using: Board Station XE 2nd place: IAI Elta, Israel Design team: Benny Lazar, Haouji Jean-Pierr Using: Board Station XE Category: Telecom, Network Controllers, Line Cards1st place: Alcatel-Lucent, USA Design team: Ramfis Rivera-Colon, Rick Mctee, Greg Martin, Bob Novonty, Jeff Bridgett, Conrad Herse, Ken Krueger, Joseph Gomez, Jay Kreminski, Sergio Olmos Using: Expedition Enterprise 2nd place: Tellabs, Finland Design team: Peter Kokko, Juha Ahvenainen, Sami Jokinen, Sauli Kunnas, Jyrki Nyyssönen, Matti Pulkkinen, Jukka Raappana, Hannu Saarikoski, Kimmo Valkonen, Päivi Vallin, Ilari Veki, Jyrki Vuorinen Using: Expedition Enterprise Category: Transportation & Automotive1st place: Johnson Controls, USA Design team: Scott Smith, Petar Slavov, Krzysztof Russa Using: Expedition Enterprise 2nd place: Huizhou Desay, China Designer: Tan Baichuan Using: Expedition Enterprise The on-demand webinar highlighting industry trends and the winners of the 2012 TLA competition can be found at About Mentor Graphics Mentor Graphics Corporation (NASDAQ:MENT) is a world leader in electronic hardware and software design solutions, providing products, consulting services and award-winning support for the world's most successful electronic, semiconductor and systems companies. Established in 1981, the company reported revenues over the last 12 months of about $1,015 million. Corporate headquarters are located at 8005 S.W. Boeckman Road, Wilsonville, Oregon 97070-7777. World Wide Web site: (Mentor Graphics, Board Station and Expedition are registered trademarks of Mentor Graphics Corporation. All other company or product names are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners.) Mentor GraphicsLarry Toda, 503-685-1664larry_toda@mentor.comorSuzanne Graham,