The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from Business Wire

UPS Honors Michigan Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

UPS Honors Michigan Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving10:00 EST Wednesday, February 20, 2013 DETROIT (Business Wire) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 53 elite drivers from Michigan are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Michigan boasts 217 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 6,163 years of accident-free driving. Thomas Camp of Livonia is the state's senior safe driver, with 50 years of accident-free driving under his belt, ranking him the safest driver among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 2,505 total UPS drivers in Michigan. Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved,” said Dwayne Meeks, president, UPS Great Lakes District. Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Camp with Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven. UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers. Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928. More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit ** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at   Following is a list of Michigan drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.   Driver     Hometown     UPS Work Location Donald Anderson Plainwell Kalamazoo Thomas Bacon Lansing Lansing Thomas Bartholomew Caledonia Grand Rapids Hub Jeff Baumunk Big Rapids Big Rapids Center Jamie Bernacik Canton Madison Hts Nancy Botz Flint Flint Lee Brown Jackson Jackson Floyd Champagne Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Hub Mark Darling Hudsonville Grand Rapids Hub David Debone Brownstown Taylor Donald Dobrovich New Boston Taylor Rickie Dodson Commerce Twp Wixom David Dunning Saginaw Saginaw Charles Ferrell New Haven Woodbridge Kelly Fisher Indian River Petoskey Michael Forkin St Clair Shore Woodbridge Adam Gentry Metamora Pontiac Jeffery Gepford Rosebush Mount Pleasant Paul Gipprich Macomb Woodbridge Robert Graf Livonia Madison Hts Donald Jeffers Petersburg Toledo Michael Kahayian Highland Madison Hts Michael Kosakowski Howell Wixom Wayne Koss Posen Alpena Thaddeus Kush Sterling Heights Woodbridge Michael Lawrence Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Hub Craig Leighton Jackson Jackson Eric Lewis Chesterfield Twp Madison Hts Frank Loechli Belleville Ypsilanti Michael Maraldo Livonia Livonia Hub Ted Mattson Tustin Cadillac Ronald Misiak Chesterfield Township Madison Hts George Motts Milan Ypsilanti Terry Nordquist Kalamazoo Kalamazoo Thomas O'Brien Livonia Livonia Hub Steven Orler Eaton Rapids Lansing Reynaldo Pena Jr Grand Rapids Grand Rapids Hub Tom Petroff Marquette Marquette Brian Premoe Lansing Lansing John Edward Rayburn Livonia Livonia Hub Mitchell Rider Williamsburg Grand Rapids Hub William Riemer Berrien Springs St. Joseph Center David Ritchie Sterling Hts Madison Hts Jeffery Rogers Battle Creek Battle Creek Center Gary Rolka Rochester Hills Livonia Hub Douglas Rop Middleville Grand Rapids Hub David Schewe Stevensville St. Joseph Center Jean Seid Marquette Marquette Joel Smith Stanwood Big Rapids Center Tim Timmer Hudsonville Grand Rapids Hub Thomas Tomasik Wyandotte Cicotte Christopher Tomlinson Eaton Rapids Lansing Gary Vinnay     Milan     Livonia Hub UPSDan McMackin,