The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from Business Wire

UPS Honors Minnesota Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

UPS Honors Minnesota Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving10:00 EST Wednesday, February 20, 2013 MINNEAPOLIS (Business Wire) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 23 elite drivers from Minnesota are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Minnesota boasts 141 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,060 years of accident-free driving. Raymond Welk of Nowthen is the state's senior safe driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for fourth best driving record among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 1,539 total UPS drivers in Minnesota. Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved,” said Jill Schubert, president, UPS Northern Plains District. Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven. UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers. Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928. More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit ** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Following is a list of Minnesota drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.   Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location Darrell Anderson   Oakdale   Minneapolis Randall Ash   Rochester   Rochester Dale Bergquist   Maplewood   St. Paul Hub John Borgen   Moorhead   Fargo Lewis Cole   New London   Willmar Mark Counter   Slayton   Granite Falls James Dean   Eden Prairie   St. Paul Hub Jeffrey Franke   Minneapolis   Maple Grove Edwin Ghostley   Champlin   Maple Grove Dennis Hawley   Inver Grove Hts.   St. Paul Hub Michael Hoff   Moorhead   Fargo David Hough   Eagan   St. Paul Hub Randy Kissner   Morris   Morris Timothy Melich   Burnsville   St. Paul Hub Gregory Nobbe   Dayton   Minneapolis   Driver   Hometown   UPS Work Location Mark Notermann   Shakopee   St. Paul Hub Linda Paige   Grand Rapids   Gunn (Grand Rapids) Richard Schetinski   Centerville   Maple Grove Steven Sebek   Erhard   Fergus Falls Richard Swords   Rosemount   St. Paul Hub Terrence Thiel   Moorhead   Fargo Terry Verch   Farmington   St. Paul Hub Theodore Zempel   Chisago City   Minneapolis UPSDan McMackin,