The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Globe Investor

News Sources

Take control of your investments with the latest investing news and analysis

Press release from Business Wire

UPS Honors Kansas Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

UPS Honors Kansas Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving10:00 EST Wednesday, February 20, 2013 WICHITA, Kan. (Business Wire) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 25 elite drivers from Kansas are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Kansas boasts 152 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,329 years of accident-free driving. Larry Saunders of Lenexa is the state's senior safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for third best safe driving record among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 1,380 total UPS drivers in Kansas. Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved,” said Judith Henry, president, UPS Central Plains District. Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven. UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers. Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928. More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit ** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Following is a list of Kansas drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.     Driver     Hometown     UPS Work Location Raymond Anderson     Kingman     Wichita (South & North) Robert Andrew     Lenexa     Lenexa Joseph Campbell     Manhattan     Manhattan Rodney Davis     Rossville     Topeka William Elston     Derby     Wichita (South & North) Paul Gatewood     Shawnee     Lenexa Donald Hill     Wichita     Wichita (South & North) GERALD HISEY     Valley Falls     Lawrence Jeffery Jennings     Manhattan     Manhattan Lonnie Kinderknecht     Colby     Colby Gregory Lane     Wamego     Manhattan Walter Long     Kansas City     Kansas City Timothy Meaux     Paola     Lenexa Patrick O'Connell     Louisburg     Lenexa Matthew Pope     Hutchinson     Hutchinson Thomas Ryan     Kansas City     Lenexa Kyle Sandefur     Salina     Salina John Schneller     Shawnee     Kansas City Dale Simon     Colwich     Wichita (South & North) Steven Spears     Kansas City     Lenexa Lon Wallis     Kansas City     Lenexa Eric Williams     Desoto     Lenexa Douglas Williams     Wichita     Wichita (South & North) Charles Wittman     Garnett     Ottawa Larry Wright     Modoc     Garden City UPSDan McMackin,