The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Globe Investor

News Sources

Take control of your investments with the latest investing news and analysis

Press release from Business Wire

UPS Honors Indiana Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

UPS Honors Indiana Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving10:00 EST Wednesday, February 20, 2013 INDIANAPOLIS (Business Wire) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 38 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Indiana boasts 170 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 4,826 years of accident-free driving. Charles Roach of Frankton is the state's senior safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for third best safe driving record among UPS's 102,000 drivers. There are 1,903 total UPS drivers in Indiana. Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved,” said Zachary Scott, president, UPS Ohio Valley District. Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven. UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers. Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928. More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit ** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.   Driver       Hometown       UPS Work Location David Akers       Columbus       Columbus William Anderson       Avilla       Waterloo Danny Babcock       Nashville       Bloomington Bill Beard II       Ft Wayne       Fort Wayne William Brauns       Plainfield       Indianapolis 81St Steven Bridges       Coatesville       Indianapolis 81St Timothy Campbell       Noblesville       Castleton Terry Carter       Pittsboro       Indianapolis 81St Anthony Cloud       New Albany       Ashbottom Hub Jeffery Clymer       Anderson       Anderson James Cook       Indpls       16Th Street Mark Cummins       Indianapolis       Indianapolis 81St Gino Desimone       Granger       Elkhart Jared Fansler       Ft Wayne       Fort Wayne Mark Fortney       Ft Wayne       Fort Wayne Donald Hill       Griffith       Jefferson Hub Michael Horner       Avon       Indianapolis 81St Dana Hyland       Lowell       Jefferson Hub Victoria Kruse       Ft Wayne       Fort Wayne Gary Kunkel       Indpls       Indianapolis 81St Mark Mc Ardle       Schererville       Jefferson Hub Paul Meyer       Fort Wayne       Indianapolis 81St Michael Niemeier       Evansville       Evansville David Ostaszewski       Crown Point       Hammond/East Lake Michael Ostrowski       St John       Chicago Area Consolidated Hub Benjamin Pace       Whiteland       16Th Street Marcus Phelps       Indianapolis       Indianapolis 81St Douglas Randolph       Lafayette       Lafayette Stephen Rohl       Paoli       Bloomington Angel Sanchez       Schererville       Chicago Area Consolidated Hub Ralph Sanders       Union Mills       Indianapolis 81St Charles Sellers       Bourbon       Bourbon Glen Tow       Martinsville       Indianapolis 81St Arvydas Vaitkus       Munster       Harvey/Chicago Heights Jay Walston       Dillsboro       Versailles Gerald Westgerdes       Indianapolis       Indianapolis 81St James White       Kokomo       Kokomo Shelly Worrell       Brownsburg       Indianapolis 81St UPSDan McMackin,