The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from Business Wire

UPS Honors Georgia Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

UPS Honors Georgia Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving10:00 EST Wednesday, February 20, 2013 ATLANTA (Business Wire) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced 57 elite drivers from Georgia are among 1,283 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving. Georgia boasts 295 active Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 8,465 years of accident-free driving. Robert Millican Jr. of Flintstone is the state's senior safe driver, with 42 years of accident-free driving under his belt, tying him for fourth best safe driving record among UPS's 102,00 drivers. There are 2,483 total UPS drivers in Georgia. Globally, 6,486 active UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they've racked up 178,663 years and more than 5.3 billion safe miles during their careers, or the equivalent of circling the earth more than 212,000 times. “My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus, and for the countless lives they've saved,” said Dow Dameron, president, UPS South Atlantic District. Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 50 years of driving without an accident. Thomas Santocke of Dearborn, Mich., and Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., are next in line with 44 years each of safe driving. Thirty-seven others have logged at least 40 years without an accident. UPS's 102,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging nearly 3 billion miles a year and averaging less than one accident for every million miles driven. UPS invested $175 million in 2012 on safety training and employs its own comprehensive driving course called “Space and Visibility.” All UPS drivers are taught safe driving methods beginning on the first day of classroom training through the company's defensive driving platform. The training continues throughout their careers. Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928. More information on UPS's commitment to safety is available at UPS (NYSE:UPS) is a global leader in logistics, offering a broad range of solutions including the transportation of packages and freight; the facilitation of international trade, and the deployment of advanced technology to more efficiently manage the world of business. Headquartered in Atlanta, UPS serves more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. The company can be found on the Web at and its corporate blog can be found at To get UPS news direct, visit ** NOTE: The following pages list local drivers by hometown and UPS center.If you're interested in interviewing or riding along with a local driver, please contact Dan McMackin at Following is a list of Georgia drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.   Driver       Hometown       UPS Work Location Tammy Andrews       Byron       Macon Walter Barnett       Villa Rica       Atlanta Hub Ricky Baugh       Douglasville       Atlanta Hub Jack Belsom       Dacula       Pleasantdale Hub Charles Brown       Atlanta       Forest Park David Christian       Calhoun       Dalton Bobby Collins Jr       Metter       Statesboro Timothy Cooper       Carrollton       Carrollton Paul Daughtry Jr       Thomasville       Cairo Thomas Davis       Ringgold       Dalton Stuart Charles Deloach       Mershon       Tifton Erik Dzamko       Jefferson       Gainesville Daniel Ennis       Savannah       Savannah Larry Epperson       Mcdonough       Atlanta Hub Racy Freeman       Augusta       Augusta Perry Garner       Roswell       Roswell Center Gregory Gatlin       Griffin       Fayette Eric Gibson       Decatur       Pleasantdale Hub Young Green       Athens       Athens James Harris       Lawrenceville       Pleasantdale Hub Roland Haskins       Macon       Macon Scott Hensley       Gainesville       Gainesville Timothy Hince       Loganville       Pleasantdale Hub James Hollis       Leesburg       Albany Center Kenneth Hyde       Austell       Pleasantdale Hub Terry Wayne Kay       Watkinsville       Athens Charlton King       Powder Springs       Roswell Center Carroll Mapp       Lithonia       Pleasantdale Hub John Martin       Brunswick       Brunswick Gregory Mc Neese       Bremen       Atlanta Hub Terry Mcintosh       Conyers       Pleasantdale Hub Charles Randall Meeks       Rome       Rome Arthur Melson       Marietta       Atlanta Hub Vernon Miller       Decatur       Pleasantdale Hub Timothy Milton       Lawrenceville       Pleasantdale Hub Michael Newman       Bremen       Atlanta Hub David Owen       Gainesville       Gainesville Lisa Peters       Ringgold       Dalton David Pickens       Brunswick       Brunswick Raymond Price       Stone Mountain       Pleasantdale Hub Roderick Price       College Park       Atlanta Hub James Price       Albany       Albany Center Jeffrey Pryor       Griffin       Griffin Jeffery Ramsbotham       Evans       Augusta Timothy Oliver Randall       Warner Robins       Macon David Rigsby       Byromville       Unadilla Phillip Roey       Hoschton       Pleasantdale Hub Vincent Scott       Covington       Forest Park Samuel Shropshire       Calhoun       Dalton Robin Smith       Gainesville       Gainesville David Stewart       Tifton       Tifton Joseph Strickland Jr       Tifton       Tifton William Tucker Jr       Lilburn       Pleasantdale Hub Thomas White       Bainbridge       Cairo James Wiggins       Gillsville       Gainesville Donald Wynn       Fairburn       Forest Park William Young       Fairburn       Roswell Center UPSDan McMackin,