The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from PR Newswire

The world's largest passive Optical LAN saves energy and money for Sandia National Laboratories

Thursday, February 28, 2013

The world's largest passive Optical LAN saves energy and money for Sandia National Laboratories11:34 EST Thursday, February 28, 2013Savings estimated at $20 million over 5 yearsALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Feb. 28, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- At Sandia National Laboratories, the world's largest passive Optical LAN now connects about 13,000 workstations in 265 buildings. Sandia National Laboratories started deploying Tellabs Optical LAN Solution in 2009 to replace an existing copper-based LAN.  With Tellabs Optical LAN Solution, Sandia expects to save about $20 million in costs over 5 years, once the system is fully deployed.Sandia National Laboratories featured on The Green RoomA video on the Sandia National Laboratories Optical LAN is scheduled on The Green Room on Fox Business News Network Saturday, March 2, at 11 a.m. (EST), 10 a.m. (CST), 9 a.m. (MST), and 8 a.m. (PST). Tellabs Optical LAN Solution provides enterprises with high bandwidth, high security, lower energy usage and lower cost. Tellabs Optical LAN replaces conventional, copper-based LANs in buildings and on campuses with 500 or more workstations. With Tellabs Optical LAN, enterprises can save up to:70% of total cost of ownership 80% of energy consumption 90% of space requirements. To extend its Optical LAN solution, Tellabs will ship the new Tellabs 120 mini-ONT, the world's smallest enterprise ONT, in the second quarter. The company is also investing in the sales channel to extend its distribution into enterprises. About Tellabs ? Tellabs innovations advance the smart mobile Internet and help our customers succeed. That's why 80% of the world's top communications service providers and 39 of the Fortune 100 companies choose our mobile backhaul, packet optical, business and services solutions and applications. We help them get ahead by adding revenue, reducing expenses and optimizing networks.Tellabs (Nasdaq: TLAB) is part of the NASDAQ Global Select Market, Ocean Tomo 300® Patent Index, the S&P MidCap 400 Index and several corporate responsibility indexes including the Maplecroft Climate Innovation Index, FTSE4Good and eight FTSE KLD indexes. http://www.tellabs.com Tellabs® and Tellabs logo are trademarks of Tellabs or its affiliates in the United States and/or other countries. Any other company or product names mentioned herein may be trademarks of their respective companies.SOURCE TellabsFor further information: Media Contacts: The Americas, George Stenitzer, 1-630-798-3800, george.stenitzer@tellabs.com; Asia Pacific, Yvonne Cheong, +65-6215-6334, yvonne.cheong@tellabs.com; Investor Contact: Tom Scottino, +1-630-798-3602, tom.scottino@tellabs.com