The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from PR Newswire

Whirlpool Corporation Posts Annual Stockholders' Meeting Results

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Whirlpool Corporation Posts Annual Stockholders' Meeting Results

18:24 EDT Tuesday, April 16, 2013

BENTON HARBOR, Mich., April 16, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Whirlpool Corporation (NYSE: WHR) announced today the results of its annual stockholders' meeting, including the election of directors for the next year.

(Logo: )

Whirlpool stockholders elected 11 individuals to the board of directors. Samuel R. Allen, Gary T. DiCamillo, Diane M. Dietz, Jeff M. Fettig, Michael F. Johnston, William T. Kerr, John D. Liu, Harish Manwani, William D. Perez, Michael A. Todman and Michael D. White were elected to the board for one-year terms, expiring in 2014.  Allen is chairman and chief executive officer of Deere & Company; DiCamillo is a partner at Eaglepoint Advisors, LLC; Dietz is executive vice president and chief marketing officer at Safeway, Inc.; Fettig is chairman and chief executive officer of Whirlpool Corporation; Johnston is the former chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Visteon Corporation; Kerr is the former president and chief executive officer, Arbitron, Inc.; Liu is the chief executive officer of Essex Equity Management and managing partner at Richmond Hill Investments; Manwani is chief operating officer of Unilever; Perez is senior advisor to Greenhill & Co.; Todman is president of Whirlpool International at Whirlpool Corporation; and, White is chairman, president and chief executive officer of DIRECTV GROUP, Inc. Two directors retired from the board effective as of the date of the April 16 annual meeting and did not stand for re-election: Kathleen J. Hempel, former vice chairman and chief financial officer at Fort Howard Corporation, served as a director since 1994; and Miles L. Marsh, former chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Fort James Corporation, served as a director since 1990.   

Stockholders also voted to approve an advisory vote on executive compensation, to ratify the appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as Whirlpool Corporation's independent registered public accounting firm for 2013, to approve the amendment and restatement of the Whirlpool Corporation 2010 Omnibus Stock and Incentive Plan, and to reject a stockholder proposal to adopt a policy of shareholder approval of future benefits payable upon the death of a senior executive. These vote results are preliminary; final results will be reported on a current report on Form 8-K, which will be filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission within four business days.

About Whirlpool Corporation

Whirlpool Corporation is the world's leading manufacturer and marketer of major home appliances, with annual sales of approximately $18 billion in 2012, 68,000 employees, and 65 manufacturing and technology research centers around the world.  The company markets Whirlpool, Maytag, KitchenAid, Jenn-Air, Amana, Brastemp, Consul, Bauknecht and other major brand names to consumers in nearly every country around the world.  Additional information about the company can be found at


SOURCE Whirlpool Corporation

For further information: Whirlpool Corporation, Media: 269/923-7405, or Financial, Joseph Lovechio, 269/923-2641,

  • Globe Unlimited

    Digital all access pass across devices. subscribe

  • The Globe and Mail Newspaper

    Newspaper delivered to your doorstep. subscribe

  • Globe2Go

    The digital replica of our newspaper. subscribe

  • Globe eBooks

    A collection of articles by the Globe. subscribe

See all Globe Products

Advertise with us

Your number one partner for reaching Canada's Influential Achievers. learn more

The Globe at your Workplace
Our Company
Secure Service
Customer Service
Advertising Privacy
Globe Recognition
Mobile Apps
Other Sections