The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Globe Investor

News Sources

Take control of your investments with the latest investing news and analysis

Press release from CNW Group

In Canada HSBC Retail Services to sell Private Label Credit Card Portfolio

Monday, March 18, 2013

In Canada HSBC Retail Services to sell Private Label Credit Card Portfolio13:00 EDT Monday, March 18, 2013VANCOUVER, March 18, 2013 /CNW/ - HSBC Retail Services Limited ('HSBC Retail'), an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of HSBC Holdings plc, has entered into an agreement to sell its consumer Private Label Credit Card Portfolio to TD Financing Services Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Toronto-Dominion Bank. The gross value of the portfolio was approximately C$495m at 28 February 2013.This agreement accelerates the wind down of the Canadian consumer finance business originally announced by HSBC Retail's parent company HSBC Financial Corporation Limited on 21 March 2012. This is a continuation of HSBC's strategy in Canada to focus on the core businesses of Commercial Banking, Global Banking and Markets, and Retail Banking and Wealth Management, supporting its aim to be the world's leading international bank.The sale, which is subject to regulatory approval, is expected to be completed in the third quarter of 2013.Notes to editors:HSBC Retail Services Limited is a wholly-owned subsidiary of HSBC Financial Corporation Limited which is a subsidiary of HSBC Bank Canada.  HSBC Bank Canada, a subsidiary of HSBC Holdings plc, is the leading international bank in Canada.HSBC Holdings plc, the parent company of the HSBC Group, is headquartered in London. The Group serves customers worldwide from around 6,600 offices in 81 countries and territories in Europe, the Asia-Pacific region, North and Latin America, and the Middle East and North Africa. With assets of US$2,693bn at 31 December 2012, the HSBC Group is one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations.SOURCE: HSBC Bank CanadaFor further information: Media enquiries to:United Kingdom Patrick Humphris +44 (0)20 7992 1631 patrick.humphris@hsbc.comCanada Ernest Yee +1 (604) 641 2973 ernest_yee@hsbc.ca Sharon Wilks +1 (416) 868 3878 sharon_wilks@hsbc.caInvestor enquiries to:London Guy Lewis +44 (0)20 7992 1938 guylewis@hsbc.com Robert Quinlan +44 (0)20 7991 3643 robert.quinlan@hsbc.comHong Kong  Hugh Pye +852 2822 4908 hugh.pye@hsbc.com