The Globe and Mail

Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Press release from CNW Group

May events & new releases at Indigo

Thursday, May 02, 2013

May events & new releases at Indigo

10:48 EDT Thursday, May 02, 2013

New Heather's Picks, Indigo Spotlight, 40% off top 20 bestsellers & new releases

TORONTO, May 2, 2013 /CNW/ - MAY EVENTS AT INDIGO BOOKS & MUSIC

From bestselling authors to the hottest spring releases, Indigo and Chapters stores nationally host FREE, and exclusive events through the month of May including appearances by celebrity comedian David Sedaris and bestselling author and UN Goodwill Ambassador Khaled Hosseini.

BOOK SIGNING WITH SHARK TANK'S ROBERT HERJAVEC
Meet Robert Herjavec - former co-star of CBC's Dragons' Den and current co-star of ABC's Shark Tank - as he signs the inspirational follow-up to Driven and pushes his readers even further towards greater happiness and success with his new book, The Will to Win.
Indigo T.D. Square
317-7th Avenue. SW, Unit T159, Calgary, AB
Wednesday, May 1st, 12:00pm
Coles Brookfield Place
161 Bay Street, P.O. Box 116, Toronto, ON
Friday, May 3rd, 12:30pm
Chapters Queensway
1950 The Queensway, Etobicoke, ON
Tuesday, May 14th, 7:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH BESTSELLING AUTHORS ANDREA CREMER & DAVID LEVITHAN
Meet bestselling YA authors Andrea Cremer and David Levithan as they sign copies of their new novel Invisibility - a magical romance between a boy cursed with invisibility and the only girl who can see him.
Chapters Brampton
Mark Hall, 52 Quarry Edge Drive, Brampton, ON
Sunday, May 5th, 2:30pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH BESTSELLING AUTHOR AND CRIMINAL LAWYER ROBERT ROTENBERG
Meet bestselling author and criminal lawyer Robert Rotenberg as he signs Stranglehold, his newest legal thriller set on the streets and in the courtrooms of Toronto.
Indigo Eaton Centre
220 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON
Tuesday, May 7th, 12:00pm

IN-CONVERSATION WITH FORMER NATIONAL BALLET BALLERINA VANESSA HARWOOD AND GLOBE AND MAIL'S DEIRDRE KELLY
Join Vanessa Harwood, former National Ballet ballerina, in conversation with Deirdre Kelly, the Globe & Mail's award-winning dance critic and style reporter, about the often brutal backstage experiences of the ballerina. Deirdre Kelly will be signing her new book, Ballerina, following the talk and Q&A.
Indigo Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Tuesday, May 7th, 7:00pm

IN-CONVERSATION WITH INDIGO CEO HEATHER REISMAN AND MEDIA THEORIST DOUGLAS RUSHKOFF
Join Indigo's chief booklover Heather Reisman in conversation with award-winning media theorist Douglas Rushkoff about his new book, Present Shock, and the challenges we all face with living in the now.
Indigo Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Wednesday, May 8th, 7:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH BESTSELLING AUTHOR RAINA TELGEMEIER
Join bestselling, award-winning author, Raina Telgemeier, and she signs her new graphic novel, Drama - a hilarious exploration of friendship, crushes and all-around drama!
Chapters Brampton
Mark Hall, 52 Quarry Edge Drive, Brampton, ON
Wednesday, May 8th, 7:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH HOLISTIC NUTRITIONIST MEGHAN TELPNER
Meet holistic nutritionist Meghan Telpner as she shares a motivating lifestyle makeover, one small change at a time, by avoiding the traps of diet deprivation and calorie counting with her new book, UnDiet.
Chapters Runnymede
2225 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Saturday, May 11th, 2:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH BESTSELLING AUTHOR AND COMEDIAN DAVID SEDARIS

Join celebrity comedian and bestselling author David Sedaris as he signs Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, a new book of essays full of bizarre and hilarious adventures from around the world.

Event Guidelines:
Personalizing Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls. Autograph only for backlist titles, no limit per person. No photos or video permitted.
Chapters John & Richmond
142 John Street, Toronto, ON
Monday, May 13th, 7:00pm 

BOOK SIGNING WITH TOP CHEF FAN FAVOURITE FABIO VIVIANI
Meet Top Chef all-star Fabio Viviani as he signs his new cookbook, Fabio's Italian Kitchen; a delightful blend of culinary tales and family recipes.
Chapters Woodbridge
3900 Highway #7, Woodbridge, ON
Tuesday, May 14th, 7:00pm

PERFORMANCE AND BOOK SIGNING WITH PETE THE CAT'S ERIC LITWIN
Join us with Pete the Cat, brought to life by Eric Litwin, bestselling author of the Pete the Cat picture books. Get ready to move and groove with the cool, blue cat as he performs a lively show that connects reading, writing and language development with music. Presented in partnership with the Calgary International Children's Festival.
Chapters Chinook
6455 Macleod Trail, Calgary, ON
Wednesday, May 22nd, 3:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH LEADERSHIP EXPERT MICHAEL WATKINS
Join Michael Watkins, internationally bestselling author and leading expert on transitions, as he shares key strategies for the challenges of a new role and signs the new, updated and expanded edition of The First 90 Days.
Indigo Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Wednesday, May 22nd, 7:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH CONSERVATIONIST LINDA TUCKER
Meet Linda Tucker as she signs her captivating memoir, Saving the White Lions, sharing her struggle to protect the white lion and her work with the Global White Lion Protection Trust.
Indigo Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Thursday, May 23rd, 7:00pm

BOOK SIGNING WITH BESTSELLING AUTHOR RACHEL HAWKINS
Join author Rachel Hawkins of the bestselling Hex Hall Series as she signs her newest book, School Spirits, a tale of Izzy Brannick and her adventures finding the secret behind the hauntings.
Chapters Brampton
Mark Hall, 52 Quarry Edge Drive, Brampton, ON
Saturday, May 25th, 2:00pm

IN-CONVERSATION WITH INDIGO CEO HEATHER REISMAN AND BESTSELLING AUTHOR KHALED HOSSEINI
Join Indigo's chief booklover Heather Reisman in conversation with Khaled Hosseini, bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, about his highly anticipated new book, And the Mountains Echoed. One of the biggest novels of the year, Hosseini's latest is a profound and deeply moving story of family bonds, love and what it means to be human. Book signing to follow.
Khaled Hosseini is a Goodwill Ambassador to the United Nations. To find out more about The Khaled Hosseini Foundation and its humanitarian work in Afghanistan visit www.khaledhosseinifoundation.org Indigo
Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Monday, May 27th, 7:00pm

IN-CONVERSATION WITH INDIGO CEO HEATHER REISMAN AND INSPIRATIONAL MEMORIST KRISTINE BARNETT
Join Indigo's chief booklover Heather Reisman in conversation with Kristine Barnett about The Spark, her extraordinary memoir of hope and possibility and how any parent can help their child reach their fullest potential. Book signing to follow. 
Indigo Manulife Centre
55 Bloor Street West, Toronto, ON
Tuesday, May 28th, 7:00pm

INDIGO SPOTLIGHT, NEW RELEASES AND 40% OFF TOP 20 BESTSELLERS 

The Indigo Spotlight program introduces readers to a new standout title every month, selected and curated by our expert book buyers.

We're pleased to announce that May's Indigo Spotlight title is an outstanding non-fiction title by Monte Reel, Between Man and Beast. Fans of The Tiger and The Lost City of Z will love this riveting page turner that reads like a novel and proves that truth is stranger than fiction. This is the true story of Victorian scientists and the redemption of a disgraced jungle adventurer who seeks a mythical monster that is suddenly all too real: the silverback gorilla.

Indigo CEO and Chief booklover, Heather Reisman has selected two new Heather's Picks for the month of May. Marisa Silver's Mary Coin and Kristine Barnett's The Spark are both stunning stories of perseverance and bravery, and each makes a perfect gift for Mother's Day.

Other exciting titles releasing for the month of May include:

  1. Dan Brown's Inferno; May 14th
  2. Khaled Hosseini's And the Mountains Echoed; May 21st
  3. John Le Carre's A Delicate Read; May 7th
  4. Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project; May 14th
  5. Philipp Meyer's The Son; May 28th
  6. Matthew Inman's My Dog: The Paradox; May 7th

Starting May 14th, Indigo is thrilled to be offering a 40% discount on Indigo's Top 20 Bestsellers on hardcopy and trade paperback titles. With bestseller titles updated weekly, there will always be something new to enjoy.

SOURCE: Indigo Books & Music Inc.

For further information:

For media requests, information and images please contact:
Jason Ip
Specialist, Marketing & Public Relations, 416-364-4499 x6840

Products
  • Globe Unlimited

    Digital all access pass across devices. subscribe

  • The Globe and Mail Newspaper

    Newspaper delivered to your doorstep. subscribe

  • Globe2Go

    The digital replica of our newspaper. subscribe

  • Globe eBooks

    A collection of articles by the Globe. subscribe

See all Globe Products

Advertise with us

GlobeLink.ca

Your number one partner for reaching Canada's Influential Achievers. learn more

The Globe at your Workplace
Our Company
Customer Service
Globe Recognition
Mobile Apps
NEWS APP
INVESTING APP
Other Sections