Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

(Rodrigo Daguerre for The Globe and Mail)
(Rodrigo Daguerre for The Globe and Mail)

Sheer beauty: Five see-through fashions to add sizzle this summer Add to ...

Photos by Rodrigo Daguerre for The Globe and Mail

Walking the lines

Vera Wang’s spring/summer line features red, yellow and blue groupings of the same billowing dresses. Each flag-like frock is made up of silk slips that, when layered, both hide and reveal parts of the legs and torso. Vera Wang dress, price on request through www.verawang.com. Alexis Bittar Lucite necklace, price on request at retailers across Canada (visit www.alexisbittar.com for details). Manolo Blahnik heels, $835 at Davids Footwear (www.davidsfootwear.com). Styling by Hazel Ong. Makeup by Robert Weir for M.A.C/judyinc.com. Hair by Tami El Sombati for Tresemmé/judyinc.com.

Stripe tease

Nothing emphasizes the see-through aspect of a top or skirt like a fabric that juxtaposes sheer and opaque bands. The trick is making sure that the solid elements hit at the right points (and that they overlap strategically across the hips). Top, approximately $1,300, skirt, approximately $2,800 at Mulberry (www.mulberry.com). Ankle socks, $24 at American Apparel (www.americanapparel.net). Manolo Blahnik heels, $835 at Davids Footwear (www.davidsfootwear.com).

Summer haze

A top layer such as a light coat or beach cover-up is one of the easiest ways to work the transparency trend. Advanced dressers will mix horizontal, vertical and angled elements to further fool the eye. Eskander jacket, $2,195 at Holt Renfrew (www.holtrenfrew.com). L’Agence tank top, $225 at Hudson’s Bay (www.thebay.com). Bikini bottoms, $95 at Calvin Klein (www.calvinklein.com). Henry Holland sunglasses, $210 at Secret Location (www.secretlocation.com).

Clear coats

Organza was the go-to textile for many designers looking to play peekaboo with their collections. Jeremy Laing used it in a more technical fashion than most, cutting sporty T-shirts, track jackets and gym shorts from a clear silk. Jeremy Laing jacket and shirt, prices on request through www.jeremylaing.com. Cosabella bandeau, $62 through www.cosabella.com. Alexander Wang skirt, $595 at TNT Woman (www.tntfashion.ca). Henry Holland sunglasses, $210 at Secret Location (www.secretlocation.com).

Hide and chic

Embracing sheerness starts with deciding what body part you feel most comfortable displaying. If shoulders are your strength, Victoria Beckham’s contemporary take on a button-up is a clear winner. Victoria Beckham shirt, $1,675 at Holt Renfrew (www.holtrenfrew.com). L’Agence trousers, $340 at Hudson’s Bay (www.thebay.com). Katie Rowland studded talon earrings, $515, eternity ring, $300 at Secret Location (www.secretlocation.com).

Follow us on Twitter: @GlobeStyle

In the know

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular