Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

(Stacey Brandford Photography/stacey brandford)
(Stacey Brandford Photography/stacey brandford)

Dare to dine in style Add to ...

I like patterns and repetition. As a kid I toyed around with patterns of numbers … too much information, I admit, so I won't go into detail. But I do have a penchant for repeating motifs and find that my eye tends to travel around a room, absorbing all the details and looking for linking elements. In this room I enjoy the way the shape of the shield back chairs works with the linking scroll pattern of the wallpaper, and the way the painted detail on the floor matches the corner of the mirror (unintentionally, but happily), and connects to the Greek key banding on the drapes and the square geometric pattern on the chairs.'

Ever a girl in search of visual beauty, I must admit that beauty, for me, lies in a certain amount of harmony and order. At least if the guests at dinner are bored, they can play "connect the dots" to see if they can find all the linking elements! My main decorating rule about dining rooms is that they can't be too serious, and they need to help you have fun. (Why else would you go to the trouble of entertaining if you're not going to have a great time?)



Sarah Richardson is the host of Sarah 101, airing Tuesdays at 9 p.m. on HGTV.http://www.sarahrichardsondesign.com; http://www.hgtv.ca/sarah101

SOURCES

Wallpaper - Nina Campbell for Osborne & Little through Primavera Interior Furnishings Ltd. www.primavera.ca

Dining table, sideboard, chandelier, wall sconces & stool - Of Things Past www.ofthingspast.com

Chairs & flatware - Elegant Garage Sale www.elegantgaragesale.com

Upholstery + refinishing of dining chairs - Eurocraft Restoration Co. www.eurocraftrestoration.com

Yellow dining chair fabric, mirror, and placemats - inVU Drapery Company www.invudraperyco.com

Silk floral dining chair fabric - Trendy Fabrics www.trendyfabrics.com

Pair of yellow side chairs - Neat Things 416-778-9453

Lacquer for chairs - Pro Glo Paints www.torontopaintstore.ca

Spraying of chairs - Benjamen Furniture Refinishing 416-745-2559

Drapery fabric, pink velvet & piping on chairs - Designer Fabrics www.designerfabrics.ca

Aqua striped fabric - Greeff through Bilbrough & Co.www.bilbroughs.com

Wall panel mould & chair rail - Brenlo Ltd. www.brenlo.ca

Carpentry - Cameron Carpentry 705-441-0680

Accent ribbon on drapes - Mokuba 416-504-5358

Etched glassware, silver accessories, brass candlesticks - Around the Block www.aroundtheblock.com

Pink china set - Green's Antiques www.greensantiques.com

Pink glassware - Anthropologie www.anthropologie.com

Rewiring of light fixture - Residential Lighting www.residentiallighting.com

Drapery hardware - Restoration Hardware www.restorationhardware.com

Painting - Captains Treasures www.captainstreasures.biz

Framed artwork - Art Interiors www.artinteriors.ca

Silver candlesticks - James McTamney & Co. Inc. www.mctamneys.com

Napkin embroidery - Dominion Regalia www.dominionregalia.com

Hardwood floor refinishing - Accurate Hardwood Flooring Inc. www.accuratehardwoodflooring.ca

Flowers - Jong Young Market 416-922-4421

Para Paint Colours:From the Sarah Richardson Designer Palette for Para Paints www.sarahpaint.com

Ceiling - Buttercup (1/3 tint) - SR51 (P5051-41D)

Outside paneling - Oyster - SR3 (P5219-24)

Inside paneling - Fog - SR27 (P5214-44)

All trim & doors - Snowfall - SR29 (P5223-14D)

Single page
 

In the know

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular