Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Renovating your bathroom on a budget Add to ...

By purchasing ready-to-go shower jambs, your tiler can build the shower stall at the beginning of the project and install the jambs, allowing you to get the glass company in for a custom site measurement.

During the week it takes to temper and prepare the glass, your tiler can tackle all the tile work, the painter can finish the walls and trim, and you can add all the finishing touches. There's no mess or dust involved in installing the glass, so that can easily be the final step in the room.

Stretch your budget

The finishing touches and decorative accessories can make or break the look of your completed room, but they can also make or break your bank account.

If you don't watch your spending, you can easily rack up a whopping bill in no time flat (at least I can if you point me in the direction of my favourite luxe home stores).

But when bound by a budget, I'm happy to grab a cart and take a spin through the aisles of more price-competitive suppliers.

I love the high life, but, like many of you, I still get excited when I can fill my cart to overflowing and get the look for less.

One stop at the big box, a quick visit to my Swedish friends, and a bargain hunt for winning discounts ensured that every inch was accessorized to perfection, with dollars to spare.

Where to buy things

Vanity, bathtub and faucet - Taps Bath Centre, 1020 Lawrence Ave. West, Toronto, 416-785-0224 or http://www.tapsbath.com

Vanity - Ove Decors, 2800 Etienne-Lenoir, Laval, Que., 866-839-2888 or http://www.ovedecors.com

Floor tile, glass mosaic and pebble shower floor - Saltillo Imports, 115 Tycos Dr., Toronto, 416-441-2224 or http://www.saltillo-tiles.com

Glass shower door and installation - Barber Glass Industries, 167 Suffolk St. West, Guelph, 519-824-0310 or http://www.barberglass.com

Shower system - Brizo, http://www.brizo.com

Wooden cabinet - Hardware, 760 Queen St. East, Toronto, 416-462-3099

Faucet for vanity, toilet, towels, towel bars, tissue holder, towel ring and baskets - Home Depot, 101 Wicksteed Ave., Toronto, 416-467-2300 or http://www.homedepot.ca

Mirror and decorative accessories - Homesense, 1840 The Queensway, Etobicoke, 416-621-4275 or http://www.homesense.ca. Ikea, 1475 The Queensway, 416-646-4532, http://www.ikea.ca

New hardware for vanity - Lee Valley Tools, 590 King St. West, Toronto, 416-366-5959 or http://www.leevalley.com

Shells and starfish in frames - Pottery Barn, 100 Bloor St West, Toronto, 416-962-2276 or http://www.potterybarn.ca

Alico sconces - Sescolite, 1461 Castlefield Ave., Toronto, 416-651-6570 or http://www.sescolite.com

Window panel fabric - Designer Fabrics, 1360 Queen St. West, Toronto, 416-531-2810 or http://www.designerfabrics.ca

Fabrication of above - Dreams Home Fashions, 215 Spadina Ave., Toronto, 416-596-8489

Paint - walls: "Reflecting pool" (10GG62/026ICI); ceiling: "Antarctic Ice" (70YY73/083ICI), ICI, http://www.ici.com

Sarah Richardson is host and co-producer of Design Inc. on HGTV and principal of Sarah Richardson Design ( http://www.sarahrichardsondesign.com).

Single page

Follow us on Twitter: @globeandmail

 

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories