Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Nicole Louise Foran is pictured with Governor-General David Johnston on Dec. 5, 2013. Ms. Foran received the Star of Courage for her role in disarming an airplane hostage-taker. (Sgt. Ronald Duchesne/Rideau Hall)
Nicole Louise Foran is pictured with Governor-General David Johnston on Dec. 5, 2013. Ms. Foran received the Star of Courage for her role in disarming an airplane hostage-taker. (Sgt. Ronald Duchesne/Rideau Hall)

The Canadians honoured for their bravery and service in 2013 Add to ...


Canadians who risked their lives to save or to protect others.

Star of Courage
Nicole Louise Foran, Stéphanie Labbé (posthumous), Constable Jeff Smiley, Master Seaman Jason Cecil Sparkes

Medal of Bravery
Benoit Bourbonnais, Christopher Bugelli, Bertrand Carle, Constable Lane Ashley Douglas-Hunt, Melville E. Farnell, André Fauchon, Constable Warren Neil Fo Sing, Marc-André Forgues, Keith Glibbery, Taylor John Gostick, Daniel Henri, Alden Yale Henry, John Robert Jacques, Philippe Jacques-Bélair, Col. David D. Johnson, Sgt. John L. Jorginson, Connor Frederick Klein, Constable Robert H. Labelle, Cindy Levasseur, Guy Liboiron, Jean Marquis, Steven Douglas McLavish, Sgt. Caleb W. McPhail, Jakob Merkel (posthumous), David Garnet Mills, Marilyn Marion Mills, Constable Michael Alexander Mulville, Brock Elliott Nelson, James Parker, Samuel Rainville, Alexander C. Robertson, Carolina Aida Santizo Arriola, Eunice Marie Selagi, Craig A. Sibley, David William Simpson, Robert Spencer, Constable Jacques W. Thibeault, CWO William Thomas Walker, Brandon Wheeler, Mayer Yacowar, Sgt. Jeffery Paul Alderdice, Sgt. Stéphane Lionel Clavette, Denise Marie Collins, Sgt. Michael Edgar Cox, Bobbi-Jo Dalziel, Kevin Michael Daniels, Cpl. Dwight Doyle, Shawn Alexander Doyle, Warnakulasuriya (Warni) Raja Fernando, Constable Joel Edward Fraser, Constable Shawn Fraser, James Randall Haden, Constable Deanna Theresa Hagen, Randy Johnson, Gregory John Kutney, Len MacIntyre, Francis J. Marshall, Constable Samantha McInnis, Brian Darrell McRae, Richard S. Munro, Leslie Dawn Rakow, Constable Gerard Denis Robineau, Elijah Ashton Rumleski-Boisvert, Constable John Shean, Joseph F. Sylvester, Claude Veilleux


The Meritorious Service Decorations include a military division and a civil division, with two levels each: a cross and a medal. The civil division recognizes individuals who have performed an exceptional deed or an activity that which brought honour to the community or to Canada. The military division recognizes individuals for their outstanding professionalism and for bringing honour to the Canadian Forces and to Canada.

Meritorious Service Cross (Civil Division)
Col. Chris Austin Hadfield

Meritorious Service Cross (Military Division)
Lt.-Gen. Stuart Beare, Ottawa; Lt-Gen. Daniel Bolger, Aurora, Ill.; Brig.-Gen. Michael Day, Ottawa; Maj.-Gen. James Ferron, Kingston, Ont; Gen. James Mattis, Richland, Wash.; Capt. Aaron Noble, Burnaby, B.C.; Lt.-Gen. Guy Thibault, Comox, B.C.

Meritorious Service Medal (Military Division)
Lt.-Col. Suzanne Bailey, Maj. Bergeron, Maj. Nicolas Bertrand, Officer Cadet Roger Bibaud, Maj. Scott Bland, CPO2 Christopher Blonde, Brig.-Gen. Jack Briggs II, LCdr. Douglas Campbell, CWO Gorden Cavanagh, Col. Kenneth Chadder, Maj. Derek Chenette, Lt.-Col. Marcel Chevarie, Cdr. Jeffrey Climenhaga, Col. Grant Dame, Col. Peter Dawe, Capt. Gregory Dixon, Maj. Bryan Dockter, Lt.-Col. Guy Doiron, Capt. (N) Haydn Edmundson, Capt. Islam Elkorazati, Honorary Col. Dennis Erker, Col. Philip Garbutt, CWO Daphne Germain, Col. Michael Gibson, CWO Stuart Hartnell, Brig.-Gen. Craig Hilton, LCmdr. Christopher Holland, Col. Derek Joyce, WO Allan Kendall, PO1 Jeffery Kenney, Lt.-Col. Guy Leblanc, Maj. Yannick Lemieux, Cpl. Clinton Lewis, Lt. (N) David Lewis, Col. Norman Litterini, Maj. Jay MacKeen, WO Michael Mar, Capt. Aaron Noble, Lt.-Col. James Ostler, Capt. (N) Rebecca Patterson, Cmdr. Bradley Peats, Capt. Trevor Pellerin, Col. Alain Pelletier, Lt.-Col. Paul Pickell, Lt.-Col. Jean Riffou, Lt.-Col. David Ross, CPO2 Daniel Rowe, CWO Christopher Rusk, Maj. Carol Sawatzky, Sgt. Jessie Scheller, CPO1 Alistair Skinner, MWO Gregory Smit, Col. Gregory Smith, Capt. Shane Smith, CPO1 Robert Spinelli, Maj. Kerry St. George, MWO Allan Upshall, Capt. (N) Douglas Young


For merit and exceptional service by members of the police force.

Commissioner Christopher D. Lewis, OPP; Chief Clive L. Weighill, Saskatoon Police Service, Sask.

Chief Keith J. Atkinson, Brandon Police Service, Man.; Deputy Commissioner Craig J. Callens, RCMP, Vancouver; Chief Paul Douglas Cook, North Bay Police Service, Ont.; Assistant Director Didier Deramond, Service de police de la ville de Montréal; Chief Bradley S. Duncan, London Police Service, Ont.; Chief Jennifer Evans, Peel Regional Police Service, Brampton, Ont.; Inspector Michel Forget, Sûreté du Québec, Montreal; Anna Gray-Henschel, RCMP, Ottawa; Chief Rick Hanson, Calgary Police Service; Director Mario Harel, Service de le police de la ville de Gatineau, Que.; Deputy Commissioner Peter Henschel, RCMP, Ottawa; Chief Rod R. Knecht, Edmonton Police Service; Assistant Commissioner Roman Nick Lipinski, RCMP, Surrey, B.C.; Sgt. Charles Momy, Ottawa Police Service; Deputy Chief William Francis Moore, Halifax Regional Police Service; Director Shelagh Elizabeth Morris, Guelph Police Service, Ont.; Director Marc Parent, Service de police de la ville de Montréal; Chief Daniel Colin Parkinson, Cornwall Community Police Service, Ont.; Chief Constable Robert A. Rich, Abbotsford Police Department, B.C.; Deputy Director General Marcel Savard, Sûreté du Québec, Montreal; Supt. Donald J.J. Spicer, Halifax Regional Police Service; Deputy Commissioner William Scott Tod, OPP; Staff Supt. Jane Wilcox, Toronto Police Service

Single page

In the know

Globe Recommends


Most popular videos »


More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular