Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

A Brimful of Asha Ravi Jain, Asha Jain. (Erin Brubacher)
A Brimful of Asha Ravi Jain, Asha Jain. (Erin Brubacher)

What to do in Toronto, April 20 to 26: Add to ...

ART and MUSEUMS

Transformation by Fire To April 28. Gardiner Museum, 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

Afterimage: Tod Ainslie’s Vision of the War of 1812 To April 28. Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or or rom.on.ca.

Beat Nation: Art, Hip Hop and Aboriginal Culture To May 5. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

More Related to this Story

Althea Thauberger: Marat Sade at the Bohnice To May 5. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To May 19. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

CONCERTS

Buddy Guy April 20. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

National Arts Centre Orchestra April 20. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

COC: Lucia di Lammermoor To May 24. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

COC: Salome April 21 to May 22. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

CLUBS

Jonny Fritz April 20. Opera House, 416-466-0313.

William Tyler April 20. Silver Dollar Room, 416-975-0909.

Jim James April 24. Phoenix, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Malcolm Holcombe April 25. Rivoli, ticketweb.ca.

Maylee Todd April 25. Black Box Theatre (Theatre Centre), eventbrite.com.

Jon Davis April 26. Rivoli. 416-596-1908.

THEATRE

She She Pop & Their Fathers: Testament To April 20. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Stomp To April 21. Royal Alexandra, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Big in Germany To April 21. Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

The Buddy Holly Story To April 21. Randolph Theatre, ticketwise.ca.

Carried Away on the Crest of a Wave. April 24 to May 26 (now in previews). Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

A Few Brittle Leaves April 25 to May 5 (preview April 24). Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap April 25 (opens). Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

Night of the Living Dead April 26 to May 19. Theatre Passe Muraille, 416-504-7529 or passemuraille.on.ca.

The Killdeer To April 27. Alumnae Theatre, 416-364-4170 or alumnaetheatre.com.

Albertine in Five Times To April 28. Berkeley Street Theatre, 416-534-6604 or theatrefrancais.com.

A Brimful of Asha To April 28. Tarragon Theatre Extra Space, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

True West To May 4. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

La Ronde To May 4. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Rent To May 5. Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

Race To May 5. Bluma Appel Theatre, 416-368-3110 or canadianstage.com.

Video Cab: The War of 1812 Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

DANCE

DanceWorks: Vilanelle and S April 20. Fleck Dance Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Still Standing You April 23 to 27. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

COMEDY

Steve Patterson April 20. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Throne of Games April 24. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

FILM

Canadian International Documentary Festival April 25 to May 5. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, hotdocs.ca

Images Festival To April 20. Various venues, imagesfestival.com.

Toronto Jewish Film Festival To April 21. Various venues, tjff.com.

LITERARY & LECTURE

Globe & Mail/Ben McNally Books Authors' Brunch April 21. Kind Edward Hotel, 416-361-0032.

Jane Goodall April 24. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

EVENTS

Mayor Rob Ford's Community Clean-up April 20 (11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.) Samuel Smith Park.

National Postage Stamp Show To April 21. Queen Elizabeth Centre, Exhibition Place, explace.on.ca

FAMILY

TIFF Kids International Film Festival To April 21.TIFF Bell Lightbox, 416-899-8433 or tiff.net/kids.

Show Choir Canada National Championship To April 21. Queen Elizabeth Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Blue Planet To May 2. Young People’s Theatre, 416-862-2222 or youngpeoplestheatre.ca.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca.

Stars on Ice April 26. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

FREE

We's the B'ys April 23 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Arkadas Quartet April 25 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Suzana d'Amour April 25. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

BOOKING AHEAD

Toronto Maple Leaf Baseball Club May 5 (home opener). Dominico Field at Christie Pits Park, leafsbaseball.weebly.com.

Flying Lotus May 15. Sound Academy, ticketweb.ca.

Vampire Weekend May 16. Sony Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Cats May 28 (opens). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Fred Penner June 8 (two shows). Enwave Theatre, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com.

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @BWheelerglobe

 

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories