Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

CATS, the show that revolutionized musical theatre around the world is making its return to Toronto.
CATS, the show that revolutionized musical theatre around the world is making its return to Toronto.

What to do in Toronto: July 5 to July 11 Add to ...

CONCERTS

Rush July 6 . Copps Coliseum, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Bruno Mars July 6. Molson Amphitheatre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Afrofest July 6 and 7. Woodbine Park, afrofest.ca.

Toronto Urban Roots Fest To July 7. Fort York, ticketfly.com.

Cody Simpson July 8. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or masseyhall.com.

Phish July 9. Molson Amphitheatre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Animal Collective July 9 Danforth Music Hall, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

One Direction July 9 and 10. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Barenaked Ladies and Ben Folds Five July 11, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

CLUBS

Lemon Bucket Orkestra and Fanfare Ciocarlia July 5. Opera House, brownpapertickets.com.

Wanda Jackson July 5 and 6. Cadillac Lounge, 416 536-7717 or ticketfly.com.

Brad Turner Quintet July 5 and 6. Rex Hotel, therex.ca.

Toronto Urban Roots Fest: Club Series July 5 to 7. Horseshoe Tavern and Lee’s Palace, torontourbanrootsfest.com.

Molly Ringwald July 7 and 8. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com .

Clayton Bellamy July 11. Dakota Tavern, 416-850-4579 or ticketfly.com.

THEATRE

The Toronto Fringe To July 14. 416-966-1062 or fringetoronto.com.

Entertaining Mr. Sloane July 17 to Aug. 17 (previews begin July 5). Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Great Expectations July 16 to Aug. 17 (previews begin July 6). Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Cats To July 28. Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com .

Avenue Q To Aug. 3. Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com .

Shakespeare in High Park To Sept. 1. High Park Amphitheatre, 416-368-3110 or canadianstage.com .

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com .

COMEDY

Mark Lewis Hypnosis Show July 6. Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com .

The Second City: Slap Shot Live! To July 14. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com .

Sunday Night Live July 7. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca .

Altdot Comedy Lounge July 8. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

FILM Italian Contemporary Film Festival To July 6. Toronto and Vaughan, Ont., icff.ca.

Christie Pits Film Festival: That Thing You Do! July 7. Christie Pits, christiepitsff.com.

Bitter/Sweet: The Joyous Cinema of Jacques Demy To July 20. TIFF Bell Lightbox, tiff.net.

A Century of Chinese Cinema To Aug. 11. TIFF Bell Lightbox, tiff.net.

LITERARY & LECTURE

1001 Nights of Storytelling July 5 (every Friday). Innis Town Hall, 1001fridays.org.

ROMwalks Plus: Wychwood Park July 7. rom.on.ca.

Trampoline Hall July 8. The Garrison, trampolinehall.net.

EVENTS Corso Italia July 5 to 7. corsoitaliafestivaltoronto.com.

Cultura Festival July 5, 12, 19 and 26. Mel Lastman Square, culturafestival.ca.

Ritmo Y Color July 5 to 7. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Toronto Rush July 7. Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Spadina Museum: Toronto’s Downton Abbey July 11 and 18. Spadina Museum, 416-392-6910 or toronto.ca.

FAMILY Weekend Family Fun Saturdays and Sundays. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

It’s A Kid’s Life Saturdays. Spadina Museum, 416-392-6910 or toronto.ca.

Giant Pandas Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5929 or torontozoo.com .

Flight of the Butterflies Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca .

Stanley’s Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca .

FREE

Heritage Toronto Walk: Where Art Meets Nature July 6. Guild Park, heritagetoronto.org.

Chamber of Horrors July 6. Camera, 416-530-0011 or camerabar.ca.

Heritage Toronto Walk: Between The Bridge And The Brewery July 7 Trinity Bellwoods Park, heritagetoronto.org.

ROMwalks : Along the Front July 10. rom.on.ca..

TIFF in the Park: Moonstruck July 10. David Pecaut Square, tiff.net.

Tom Bombadil’s Kitchen July 11 Toronto Music Garden, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

ART and MUSEUMS

Toronto Outdoor Art Exhibition To July 7. Nathan Phillips Square, torontooutdoorart.org .

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To July 14. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Douglas Coupland To July 27. Daniel Faria Gallery, 416-538-1880 or danielfariagallery.com .

Playing Favourites (Part I: Light and Sound) To July 28. Design Exchange, dx.org.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis To Sept. 2. Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca .

Postscript: Writing After Conceptual Art To Sept. 2. The Power Plant, thepowerplant.org.

Kathy Venter: Life To Sept 15. Gardiner Museum, 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

Mesopotamia: Inventing Our World Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca .

Visual Arts Summer Exhibitions To Sept. 15. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com .

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com .

Ancestry and Artistry: Maya Textiles from Guatemala To Oct. 13. Textile Museum of Canada, 416-599-5321 or textilemuseum.ca.

The Spectacle of Play To Jan. 12, 2014. Art Gallery of Hamilton, artgalleryofhamilton.com.

The Group of Seven and Tom Thomson McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com .

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca .

Nine Rivers City: Toronto’s Extraordinary Waterways To June, 2014. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com .

BOOKING AHEAD

Toronto’s Festival of Beer July 26 to 28. Bandshell Park, beerfestival.ca.

Carlos Delgado/Extra Bases Training Day July 22. Rogers Centre, 416-341-2500 or bluejays.com/delgado.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

The Grove Music Festival (with Phoenix) Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com .

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com .

Roundhouse Craft Beer Festival August 10 to 11. Roundhouse Park, steamwhistle.ca.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Toronto Beer Week Sept. 13 to 2. torontobeerweek.com.

Just For Laughs Sept. 19 to 28. jfl42.com David Bowie is Sept. 25 to Nov. 27. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Les Misérables Sept. 27 to Dec. 22. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Eagles Nov. 6 (on sale, July 6). Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories