Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

“Sun Eclipse” from Chris Marker’s Memory of a Certain Time, showing at the TIFF Bell Lightbox as part of Contact Photography Festival. (Courtesy Peter Blum Gallery, New York)
“Sun Eclipse” from Chris Marker’s Memory of a Certain Time, showing at the TIFF Bell Lightbox as part of Contact Photography Festival. (Courtesy Peter Blum Gallery, New York)

What to do in Toronto, May 11 to 17: Metz, Contact and Kaeja d’Dance Add to ...

FUNDRAISER

The Meme-ing of Life: Benefit Performance for Jo-Anna Downey May 12 (4 p.m.). Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

 

ART and MUSEUMS

Contact Photography Festival To May 31. scotiabankcontactphoto.com.

Hazelton Lanes Arts Festival To May 19. hazeltonlanes.com/arts-festival.

Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders To June 15. Stephen Bulger Gallery, 416-504-0575 or bulgergallery.com.

More Related to this Story

Making it Real May 14 to 18. OCAD University, ocadu.ca.

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To May 19. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Sara Angelucci: Provenance Unknown To June 16. York University Art Gallery, theagyuisoutthere.org.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com.

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

 

CONCERTS

SING! The Toronto Vocal Arts Festival To May 12. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Soundstreams: Music For China May 14. Koerner Hall, 416-408-0208 or rcmusic.ca.

Vampire Weekend May 16. Sony Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

TSO: Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto May 16 and 18. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

COC: Salome To May 22. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

COC: Lucia di Lammermoor To May 24. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

COC: Dialogues des Carmélites To May 25. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

 

CLUBS

Al Tuck May 11. Dakota, 416-850-4579.

Foals May 11. Kool Haus, ticketfly.com.

The Breeders May 11. Danforth Music Hall, ticketfly.com.

Youth Lagoon May 13. Great Hall, ticketfly.com.

Coco Montoya May 14, El Mocambo, ticketpro.ca.

Alan Doyle May 14 and 15. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Flying Lotus May 15. Sound Academy, ticketweb.ca.

Eliana Cuevas May 15. Lula Lounge, 416-588-0307 or lula.ca.

Metz May 17. Lee's Palace,

Paul Kelly May 17 and 18. Drake Underground, 416-531-5042.

 

THEATRE

The Harold Awards May 13. Monarch Tavern, haroldawards.com.

The Charge of the Expormidable Moose To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Extra Space, 416-531-1827 or onelittlegoat.org.

The Barber of Seville May 15 to June 8 (no in previews). Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Of a Monstrous Child: A Gaga Musical May 16 to 26 (previews, May 14 and 15). To May 5. Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

The Book of Mormon To June 9. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Stopheart To May 26. Factory Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

Night of the Living Dead To May 19. Theatre Passe Muraille, 416-504-7529 or passemuraille.on.ca.

Carried Away on the Crest of a Wave To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

Video Cab: The War of 1812 To June 1. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

 

DANCE

Kaeja d’Dance: X-ODUS and Crave To May 11. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

The Golden Mean To May 12. Bluma Appell, 416-368-3110 or canadianstage.com.

She Was May 16 to 18. Citadel, 647-444-9329.

Moonhorse Dance Theatre: Older & Reckless May 16 to 18. Dancemakers Centre for Creation, 416-504-6429 or moonhorsedance.com.

 

COMEDY

The Primo Show May 16. Supermarket, 416-840-0501 or supermarkettoronto.com.

Sunday Night Live May 12. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Altdot Comedy Lounge May 13. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

 

FILM

Italian Contemporary Film Festival. To May 11. TIFF Bell Lightbox, 416-599-8433 or tiff.net.

Toronto Film Society: The Pre-Code Weekend To May 12. Carlton Cinema, torontofilmsociety.com.

Greenwich Village: Music That Defined A Generation May 15. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

 

LITERARY & LECTURE

Toronto's Heritage Streetscapes: Can They Be Saved? May 11. Twist Gallery, 416-588-2222.

Impossible Words with Lillian Allen and Robert Priest May 11. Academy of the Impossible, impossible.ws.

Toronto Comic Arts Festival May 11 to 12. Toronto Reference Library, 416-533-1968 or torontocomics.com.

David Sedaris May 13. Chapters, John and Richmond, 416-595-7349.

Sissy Spacek May 13. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Sir, I Intend to Burn Your Book: Lawrence Hill and Carol Duncan on Race, Censorship, and Free Speech May 16. Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-5797 or rom.on.ca.

 

EVENTS

Toronto Roller Derby May 11 The Bunker, Downsview Park, torontorollerderby.com.

Global Marijuana March May 11. cannibas.ca

Toronto Rush May 12 (home opener). Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Toronto Maple Leaf Baseball Club May 12. Dominico Field at Christie Pits Park, leafsbaseball.weebly.com.

Gladstone Spring Beer Tasting May 15. Gladstone Hotel Melody Bar, 416-531-4635 or gladstonehotel.com.

Deep Wireless Festival Of Radio & Transmission To June 1. Artscape Wychwood Barns, deepwireless.ca.

 

FAMILY

Platypus Theatre: Emily Saves the Orchestra May 11 (1:30 and 3:30 p.m.). Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

Forest of Reading Festival of Trees May 15 to 16. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000.

Stanley's Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

La Fugue To May 16. Young People’s Theatre, 416-862-2222 or youngpeoplestheatre.ca.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca.

 

FREE

The Grange ROM Walk May 12. Dundas and McCaul, rom.on.ca.

The Christina and Louis Quilico Awards May 13. Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Classical India 3: Ragas and Revelations May 14 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Swing Night with Combo Royale May 16. Gladstone Hotel Melody Bar, gladstonehotel.com.

CBC's Open House May 16 to 19. Toronto Broadcasting Centre, canadaliveshere.ca.

 

BOOKING AHEAD

Bugs Bunny at the Symphony May 18. Sony Centre, 855-872-7669 or sonycentre.ca.

Giant Pandas Opens May 18. Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5999, torontozoo.com.

Ontario SPCA Friends for Life Walk-a-Thon May 25. Coronation Park, OSPCAWalk.ca.

Ray Wylie Hubbard May 26. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Cats May 28 (opens). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

D’Angelo May 31. Sound Academy, ticketfly.com.

Burger Day June 2. Artscape Wychwood Barns, torontoartscape.org/artscape-wychwood-barns

Fred Penner June 8 (two shows). Enwave Theatre, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

NXNE June 10 to 16. nxne.com.

BB King – The Life of Riley June 14. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

Luminato Festival June 14 to 23. luminatofestival.com.

MuchMusic Video Awards June 16. 299 Queen St. W., muchmusic.com.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Toronto Jazz Festival June 20 to 29. torontojazz.com.

Buckwheat Zydeco July 3. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Macy Gray Aug. 1 and 2. Fallsview Casino, Niagara Falls, Ont., 1-877-833-3110 or ticketmaster.ca.

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com.

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

In the know

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular

You have $(count_down) free articles left.

You have $(count_down) free articles left.

You have $(count_down) free articles left.

'''$(document).ready(function() { $g.growl("news"); });''' '''$(document).ready(function() { $g.growl("news"); });''' '''$(document).ready(function() { $g.growl("news"); });'''
Products
  • Globe Unlimited

    Digital all access pass across devices. subscribe

  • The Globe and Mail Newspaper

    Newspaper delivered to your doorstep. subscribe

  • Globe2Go

    The digital replica of our newspaper. subscribe

  • Globe eBooks

    A collection of articles by the Globe. subscribe

See all Globe Products

Advertise with us

GlobeLink.ca

Your number one partner for reaching Canada's Influential Achievers. learn more

The Globe at your Workplace
Our Company
Customer Service
Globe Recognition
Mobile Apps
NEWS APP
INVESTING APP
Other Sections