Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

James Mercer of The Shins
James Mercer of The Shins

What to do in Toronto, May 16 to 22 Add to ...

ART and MUSEUMS

Making it Real To May 18. OCAD University, ocadu.ca.

Hazelton Lanes Arts Festival To May 19. hazeltonlanes.com/arts-festival.

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To May 19. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Xposè Opens May 22. Todmorden Papermill Art Gallery, 416-396-2819.

Contact Photography Festival To May 31. scotiabankcontactphoto.com.

More Related to this Story

The World of Taiyo Matsumoto To June 7. The Japan Foundation, jftor.org

Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders To June 15. Stephen Bulger Gallery, 416-504-0575 or bulgergallery.com.

Sara Angelucci: Provenance Unknown To June 16. York University Art Gallery, theagyuisoutthere.org.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com.

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

CONCERTS

Bugs Bunny at the Symphony May 18. Sony Centre, 855-872-7669 or sonycentre.ca.

TSO: Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto May 18. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

COC: Salome To May 22. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

Tommy Emmanuel Centre for the Arts May 22, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

TSO: Brahms German Requiem May 22, 23 and 25. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

COC: Lucia di Lammermoor To May 24. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

Toronto Consort: A Woman’s Life May 24 to 26. Trinity-St.Paul’s Centre, 416-964-6337 or torontoconsort.com.

COC: Dialogues des Carmélites To May 25. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

CLUBS

Carole Pope May 19. Flying Beaver Pubaret, 647-347-6567 or pubaret.com.

Colin Stetson May 19. Great Hall, ticketfly.com.

Jadea Kelly May 22. Great Hall, http://www.darthjadea.com/Shows.html

The Shins May 22. Sound Academy, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Richard Buckner May 23. Horseshoe Tavern, ticketfly.com.

Fall Out Boy 24 Sound Academy, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

THEATRE

Night of the Living Dead To May 19. Theatre Passe Muraille, 416-504-7529 or passemuraille.on.ca.

The Charge of the Expormidable Moose To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Extra Space, 416-531-1827 or onelittlegoat.org.

Carried Away on the Crest of a Wave To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

Of a Monstrous Child: A Gaga Musical To May 26. To May 5. Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

Stopheart To May 26. Factory Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

Kim's Convenience May 20 to June 19. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Hotel Modern: KAMP May 23 to 26. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Soulo Theatre Festival May 23 to 26. Red Sandcastle Theatre, soulo.ca.

Video Cab: The War of 1812 To June 1. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca.

The Barber of Seville To June 8. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

The Book of Mormon To June 9. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

DANCE

She Was May 18. Citadel, 647-444-9329.

Moonhorse Dance Theatre: Older & Reckless May 18. Dancemakers Centre for Creation, 416-504-6429 or moonhorsedance.com.

Ame Henderson/Public Recordings: What We Are Saying May 22 to 25. Power Plant, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

St Petersburg's Eifman Ballet: Rodin May 23 to 25. Sony Centre, 1-855-872-7669 or ticketmaster.ca.

Canadian Contemporary Dance Theatre: Vector[s] May 24 and 25. Fleck Dance Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

COMEDY

Sunday Night Live May 19. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Nile Séguin and Rebecca Kohler May 23. Lower Ossington Theatre, brownpapertickets.com.

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

FILM

Toronto Inside Out LGBT Film Festival May 23 to June 2. TIFF Bell Lightbox, insideout.ca/torontofestival.

Bruce Cockburn: Pacing the Cage May 24 and 25. Carlton Cinema, 416-598-5454.

LITERARY & LECTURE

Write Club May 21. The Garrison, writeclubtoronto.com.

EVENTS

Artscape Salon: Picnic In Park May 22. Daniels Spectrum, brownpapertickets.com.

More Than Just a Yardage Sale May 24 and 25. Textile Museum of Canada, 416-599-5321 or textilemuseum.ca.

Toronto Maple Leaf Baseball Club May 19. Dominico Field at Christie Pits Park, leafsbaseball.weebly.com.

Deep Wireless Festival Of Radio & Transmission To June 1. Artscape Wychwood Barns, deepwireless.ca.

FAMILY

Toronto International Circus Festival May 18 to 20. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or tocircusfestival.com.

Stanley's Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca.

FREE

The Annex ROM Walk May 19. rom.on.ca.

Anna Christy: Bel Canto Bliss May 21 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Cabbagetown ROM Walk May 22. rom.on.ca.

Happy Birthday, Wagner! May 22 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

COC Ensemble Studio: Les Adieux May 23 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

BOOKING AHEAD

Michael Kaeshammer May 25. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Ontario SPCA Friends for Life Walk-a-Thon May 25. Coronation Park, OSPCAWalk.ca.

Doors Open May 25 and 26. toronto.ca/doorsopen.

Ray Wylie Hubbard May 26. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Cats May 28 (opens). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

D’Angelo May 31. Sound Academy, ticketfly.com.

Toronto Rush June 1. Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Becel Heart & Stroke Ride for Heart June 2. 416-486-7433 or rideforheart.ca.

CPA Hidden Gardens & Private Spaces Tour June 2. Cabbagetown, cabbagetownpa.ca.

Burger Day June 2. Artscape Wychwood Barns, torontoartscape.org/artscape-wychwood-barns

Queer Pride June 7 to 30. Buddies in Bad Times, buddiesinbadtimes.com.

NXNE June 10 to 16. nxne.com.

BB King – The Life of Riley June 14. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

Luminato Festival June 14 to 23. luminatofestival.com.

Toronto Roller Derby June 15. The Bunker, Downsview Park, torontorollerderby.com.

MuchMusic Video Awards June 16. 299 Queen St. W., muchmusic.com.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Alabama Shakes June 20. Echo Beach, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Toronto Jazz Festival June 20 to 29. torontojazz.com.

Buckwheat Zydeco July 3. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com.

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Les Misérables Sept. 27 to Dec. 22. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories