Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Lee Perkins photo: Dave Matthews - Classic Dave Matthews @ the Gorge in Washington State. One of the best outdoor venues in North America (Lee Perkins)
Lee Perkins photo: Dave Matthews - Classic Dave Matthews @ the Gorge in Washington State. One of the best outdoor venues in North America (Lee Perkins)

What to do in Toronto, May 24-30 Add to ...

ART and MUSEUMS

Kathy Venter: Life May 30 to Sept 15. Gardiner Museum, 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To July 14. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

More Related to this Story

Contact Photography Festival To May 31. scotiabankcontactphoto.com.

The World of Taiyo Matsumoto To June 7. The Japan Foundation, jftor.org

Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders To June 15. Stephen Bulger Gallery, 416-504-0575 or bulgergallery.com.

Sara Angelucci: Provenance Unknown To June 16. York University Art Gallery, theagyuisoutthere.org.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com.

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

Xposè Todmorden Papermill Art Gallery, 416-396-2819.

CONCERTS

Michael Kaeshammer May 25. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

TSO: Brahms German Requiem May 25. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

COC: Dialogues des Carmélites May 25. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

Toronto Consort: A Woman’s Life To May 26. Trinity-St.Paul’s Centre, 416-964-6337 or torontoconsort.com.

Dave Matthews Band May 28. Molson Amphitheatre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

TSO: West Side Story May 28 and 29. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

CLUBS

Laura Repo May 25 Gladstone Melody Bar, gladstonehotel.com.

Laura Marling May 25. 99 Sudbury, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Ray Wylie Hubbard May 26. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

D’Angelo May 31. Sound Academy, ticketfly.com.

Diana Braithwaite and Chris Whiteley May 31. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

THEATRE

The Charge of the Expormidable Moose To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Extra Space, 416-531-1827 or onelittlegoat.org.

Carried Away on the Crest of a Wave To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

Of a Monstrous Child: A Gaga Musical To May 26. Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

Stopheart To May 26. Factory Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

Hotel Modern: KAMP To May 26. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Soulo Theatre Festival To May 26. Red Sandcastle Theatre, soulo.ca.

Video Cab: The War of 1812 To June 1. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca.

The Barber of Seville To June 8. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

The Book of Mormon To June 9. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Kim's Convenience To June 19. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Cats May 28 (opens). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

DANCE

Ame Henderson/Public Recordings: What We Are Saying May 25. Power Plant, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

St Petersburg's Eifman Ballet: Rodin May 25. Sony Centre, 1-855-872-7669 or ticketmaster.ca.

Canadian Contemporary Dance Theatre: Vector[s] May 25. Fleck Dance Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Alias Dance Project: Shifting Edges May 29 to June 1. Dancemakers Centre for Creation, 416-504-6429 or aliasdanceproject.com.

COMEDY

Sunday Night Live May 26. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Sketch Comedy Lounge May 28. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

Bad Dog Theatre: Final Frontier May 29. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Funny Girls and Dynamic Divas (Sandra Shamas, Elvira Kurt, Molly Johnson and Jane Bunnett) May 30. Jane Mallett Theatre, 416-366-7723 or stlc.com.

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

FILM

Toronto Inside Out LGBT Film Festival To June 2. TIFF Bell Lightbox, insideout.ca/torontofestival.

Bruce Cockburn: Pacing the Cage May 25. Carlton Cinema, 416-598-5454.

LITERARY & LECTURE

Khaled Hosseini May 27. Indigo Manulife Centre, chaptersindigo.ca.

Mark Tewksbury: June Callwood Lecture May 27. Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library. 416-395-5577.

Vikki VanSickle (with Miranda Mulholland) May 28. 3030 Dundas West, 3030dundaswest.com.

EVENTS

More Than Just a Yardage Sale May 25. Textile Museum of Canada, 416-599-5321 or textilemuseum.ca.

Ontario SPCA Friends for Life Walk-a-Thon May 25. Coronation Park, OSPCAWalk.ca.

Toronto Mid-Town Record Show May 26. Greenwood College School, facebook.com.

Toronto Maple Leaf Baseball Club May 26 and 29. Dominico Field at Christie Pits Park, leafsbaseball.weebly.com.

Deep Wireless Festival Of Radio & Transmission To June 1. Artscape Wychwood Barns, deepwireless.ca.

Toronto Festival of Clowns May 29 to June 2. Pia Bouman School and Unit 102, torontofestivalofclowns.com.

FAMILY

Giant Pandas Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5929 or torontozoo.com.

Stanley's Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca.

FREE

ROMwalks: Whiskey, Wharf and Windmill May 28. rom.on.ca.

Anna Christy: Bel Canto Bliss May 21 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Doors Open May 25 and 26. toronto.ca/doorsopen.

Cabbagetown ROM Walk May 22. rom.on.ca.

Toronto Summer Music Festival Preview May 28 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Linda Ippolito May 30 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

BOOKING AHEAD

Aladdin June 1 to 23. Solar Stage, 416-368-8031 or solarstage.on.ca.

Eats & Beats in Riverside June 1. riverside-to.com

Riverdale Art Walk June 1 and 2. 416-465-0302 or artistsnetwork.ca.

Toronto Rush June 1. Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Becel Heart & Stroke Ride for Heart June 2. 416-486-7433 or rideforheart.ca.

CPA Hidden Gardens & Private Spaces Tour June 2. Cabbagetown, cabbagetownpa.ca.

Burger Day June 2. Artscape Wychwood Barns, torontoartscape.org/artscape-wychwood-barns

ROM Walk: Jarvis Street Mansions and Churches of the Rich and Religious June 2. rom.on.ca..

National Ballet of Canada: Carmen June 5 to 16. Four Seasons Centre, 416-345-9595 or national.ballet.ca.

Poweball: 15 Minutes June 6. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

Queer Pride June 7 to 30. Buddies in Bad Times, buddiesinbadtimes.com.

NXNE June 10 to 16. nxne.com.

BB King – The Life of Riley June 14. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

Luminato Festival June 14 to 23. luminatofestival.com.

Toronto Roller Derby June 15. The Bunker, Downsview Park, torontorollerderby.com.

MuchMusic Video Awards June 16. 299 Queen St. W., muchmusic.com.

National Ballet of Canada: The Man in Black June 19 to 23. Four Seasons Centre, 416-345-9595 or national.ballet.ca.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Alabama Shakes June 20. Echo Beach, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Toronto Jazz Festival June 20 to 29. torontojazz.com.

Ian McLagan June 26. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Buckwheat Zydeco July 3. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Carlos Delgado/Extra Bases Training Day July 22. Rogers Centre, 416-341-2500 or bluejays.com/delgado.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com.

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Les Misérables Sept. 27 to Dec. 22. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @BWheelerglobe

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories