Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Mick Jagger of the Rolling Stones performs on the 50 & Counting tour at the Honda Center on Saturday, May 18, 2013 in Anaheim, Calif. (John Shearer/The Associated Press)
Mick Jagger of the Rolling Stones performs on the 50 & Counting tour at the Honda Center on Saturday, May 18, 2013 in Anaheim, Calif. (John Shearer/The Associated Press)

What to do in Toronto: May 31 to June 6 Add to ...

ART and MUSEUMS

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Contact Photography Festival To May 31. scotiabankcontactphoto.com .

The World of Taiyo Matsumoto To June 7. The Japan Foundation, jftor.org

Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders To June 15. Stephen Bulger Gallery, 416-504-0575 or bulgergallery.com .

More Related to this Story

Arts & Crafts: Norman Wong Photography To June 15. 1093 Queen St. W., arts-crafts.ca.

Sara Angelucci: Provenance Unknown To June 16. York University Art Gallery, theagyuisoutthere.org.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com .

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com .

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To July 14. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net .

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis To Sept. 2. Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or rom.on.ca .

Kathy Venter: Life To Sept 15. Gardiner Museum, 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

Ancestry and Artistry: Maya textiles from Guatemala To Oct. 13. Textile Museum of Canada, 416-599-5321 or textilemuseum.ca.

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca .

Xposè Todmorden Papermill Art Gallery, 416-396-2819.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com .

CONCERTS

Orangeville Blues and Jazz To June 2. objf.org.

Waterfront Blues May 31 to June 2. Woodbine Park, waterfrontblues.ca.

Hamilton Blues & Roots Festival June 1. Westdale Village, hamiltonbluesandroots.com.

Victoria Scholars: Bach, Beethoven, Brahms… and the Boys June 2. Our Lady of Sorrows, victoriascholars.ca.

Dionne Warwick June 3. Roy Thomson Hall, roythomson.com.

TSO: Joshua Bell and Edgar Meyer June 5, 6 and 8. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca .

The XX and Grizzly Bear June 6. Echo Beach, ticketfly.com.

Rolling Stones June 6. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

The Giacomo Variations June 6 to 8. Elgin Theatre, tiff.net.

CLUBS

D’Angelo May 31. Sound Academy, ticketfly.com.

Young Galaxy May 31. Lee’s Palace, ticketfly.com.

Diana Braithwaite and Chris Whiteley May 31. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com .

Jane’s Party June 1. Cameron House, thecameron.com.

Eleanor Friedberger June 5. Horseshoe Tavern, ticketfly.com.

Mount Kimbie June 5 The Hoxton, ticketweb.ca.

Jonathan Richman June 5 and 6. Great Hall, ticketweb.ca

Lily Frost June 6 to 8. Jazz Bistro, jazzbistro.ca

THEATRE

Video Cab: The War of 1812 To June 1. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca .

The Barber of Seville To June 8. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca .

The Book of Mormon To June 9. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com .

Kim’s Convenience To June 19. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Cats Opens June 11 (in previews now). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com .

Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com .

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com .

DANCE

Alias Dance Project: Shifting Edges To June 1. Dancemakers Centre for Creation, 416-504-6429 or aliasdanceproject.com.

Stomp Urban Dance Competition June 2. Sony Centre, 1-855-872-7669 or ticketmaster.ca .

National Ballet of Canada: Carmen June 5 to 16. Four Seasons Centre, 416-345-9595 or national.ballet.ca.

COMEDY

Gerry Dee May 31 and June 1. Yuk Yuk’s Toronto, 416-967-6425 or yukyuks.com.

Sunday Night Live June 2. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca .

Altdot Comedy Lounge June 3. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

Sketch Comedy Lounge June 4. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

National Theatre of the World: The Script Tease Project June 4 to 8. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca .

Bad Dog Theatre: Zombie Toronto June 5. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca .

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com .

FILM

Toronto Inside Out LGBT Film Festival To June 2. TIFF Bell Lightbox, insideout.ca/torontofestival.

Charles Bradley: Soul of America To June 6. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

Pink Floyd: Darker Side of Oz June 2 to 30. The Cineforum, reghartt.ca/cineforum.

LITERARY & LECTURE

Trampoline Hall June 3. The Garrison, trampolinehall.net.

EVENTS

Eats & Beats in Riverside June 1. riverside-to.com

Riverdale Art Walk June 1 and 2. 416-465-0302 or artistsnetwork.ca.

Toronto Rush June 1. Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Danforth East Garage Sale June 1. danfortheastcommunityassociation.com.

Toronto Festival of Clowns To June 2. Pia Bouman School and Unit 102, torontofestivalofclowns.com.

Becel Heart & Stroke Ride for Heart June 2. 416-486-7433 or rideforheart.ca.

CPA Hidden Gardens & Private Spaces Tour June 2. Cabbagetown, cabbagetownpa.ca.

Burger Day June 2. Artscape Wychwood Barns, torontoartscape.org/artscape-wychwood-barns

Poweball: 15 Minutes June 6. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

FAMILY

Aladdin To June 23. Solar Stage, 416-368-8031 or solarstage.on.ca.

Giant Pandas Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5929 or torontozoo.com .

Flight of the Butterflies Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca .

Stanley’s Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca .

FREE

Bloorcourt 101 June 1. Bassline, skillshop.ca.

ROM Walk: Jarvis Street Mansions and Churches of the Rich and Religious June 2. rom.on.ca..

ROMwalks: The Annex June 5. rom.on.ca.

Morgan Davis June 6. Gladstone Melody Bar, gladstonehotel.com.

BOOKING AHEAD

Fred Penner June 8. Enwave Theatre, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca .

NXNE June 10 to 16. nxne.com.

BB King – The Life of Riley June 14. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com .

Luminato Festival June 14 to 23. luminatofestival.com.

Toronto Roller Derby June 15. The Bunker, Downsview Park, torontorollerderby.com.

MuchMusic Video Awards June 16. 299 Queen St. W., muchmusic.com .

National Ballet of Canada: The Man in Black June 19 to 23. Four Seasons Centre, 416-345-9595 or national.ballet.ca.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Alabama Shakes June 20. Echo Beach, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Toronto Jazz Festival June 20 to 29. torontojazz.com .

Canadian Stage: Macbeth and The Taming of the Shrew June 26 to Sept. 1. High Park Amphitheatre, canadianstage.com.

Ian McLagan June 26. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com .

Buckwheat Zydeco July 3. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com .

Carlos Delgado/Extra Bases Training Day July 22. Rogers Centre, 416-341-2500 or bluejays.com/delgado.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com .

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com .

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca .

Les Misérables Sept. 27 to Dec. 22. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @BWheelerglobe

In the know

Most popular video »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most Popular Stories