Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

A show of photographs by Sebastião Salgado opens at the ROM this week. (Sebastião Salgado/Amazonas Images)
A show of photographs by Sebastião Salgado opens at the ROM this week. (Sebastião Salgado/Amazonas Images)

What to do in Toronto, May 4 to 10: Contact, James Blake and The Book of Mormon Add to ...

ART and MUSEUMS

Spring Awakening To May 5. Gardiner Museum, 416-586-8080 or gardinermuseum.on.ca.

OCAD University: Graduate Exhibition To May 5. Ontario College of Art and Design, ocad.ca.

Sebastião Salgado: Genesis Opens May 4. Royal Ontario Museum, 416-586-8000 or or rom.on.ca.

Contact Photography Festival To May 31. scotiabankcontactphoto.com.

More Related to this Story

Beat Nation: Art, Hip Hop and Aboriginal Culture To May 5. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

Althea Thauberger: Marat Sade at the Bohnice To May 5. Power Plant, 416-973-4949 or thepowerplant.org.

Patti Smith: Camera Solo To May 19. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Sara Angelucci: Provenance Unknown To June 16. York University Art Gallery, theagyuisoutthere.org.

Revealing the Early Renaissance: Stories and Secrets in Florentine Art To June 16. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Exploring Cape Dorset Art To June 16. McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1-888-213-1121 or mcmichael.com.

Harbourfront Centre Spring Exhibitions To June 16. 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

Queen West Walking Art Tour Saturdays, noon. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

Lost in the Memory Palace To Aug. 18. Art Gallery of Ontario, 416-979-6648 or ago.net.

Out of the Box: The Rise of Sneaker Culture To March 30, 2014. Bata Shoe Museum, 416-979-7799 or batashoemuseum.ca.

CONCERTS

Bay City Rollers May 4. Casino Rama, Rama, Ont., 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

TSO: Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique May 4. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

Cecilia String Quartet and Danilo Pérez May 4. Koerner Hall, performance.rcmusic.ca.

Toronto Operetta Theatre: La Vie Parisienne To May 5. Jane Mallet Theatre, 416-366-7723 or torontooperettatheatre.com.

Bay City Rollers May 5. Hamilton Place, Hamilton, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Toronto Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven and Brahms May 8 and 9. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4244 or tso.ca.

SING! The Toronto Vocal Arts Festival May 9 to 12. Harbourfront Centre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

COC: Salome To May 22. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

COC: Lucia di Lammermoor To May 24. Four Seasons Centre, 416-363-8231 or coc.ca.

CLUBS

James Blake May 4. Danforth Music Hall, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Neil Young Tribute May 4. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Toronto Reggae/Ska Explosion May 4. Phoenix, ticketweb.ca.

Oz Noy Trio May 4. Rex Hotel, 416-598-2475 or therex.ca

The Good Family May 9 and 10. Dakota, 416-850-4579.

THEATRE

True West To May 4. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

La Ronde To May 4. Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or soulpepper.ca.

Rent To May 5. Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com.

A Few Brittle Leaves To May 5. Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, 416-975-8555 or buddiesinbadtimes.com.

Race To May 5. Bluma Appel Theatre, 416-368-3110 or canadianstage.com.

The Playwright Project To May 7. Various venues, playwrightproject.com.

The Book of Mormon To June 9. Princess of Wales, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

Stopheart May 10 to 26 (in previews now). Factory Theatre, 416-504-9971 or factorytheatre.ca.

Agatha Christie's The Mousetrap Lower Ossington Theatre, 416-915-6747 or lowerossingtontheatre.com. Alumnae Theatre, 416-364-4170 or alumnaetheatre.com.

Night of the Living Dead To May 19. Theatre Passe Muraille, 416-504-7529 or passemuraille.on.ca.

Carried Away on the Crest of a Wave. To May 26. Tarragon Theatre Mainspace, 416-531-1827 or tarragontheatre.com.

Video Cab: The War of 1812 Young Centre, 416-866-8666 or youngcentre.ca.

The Wizard of Oz Ed Mirvish Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

DANCE

Coleman Lemieux & Compagnie: Malcolm May 4. Citadel, colemanlemieux.com.

Kaeja d’Dance: X-ODUS and Crave May 7 to 11. Enwave Theatre, 416-973-4000 or harbourfrontcentre.com.

The Golden Mean May 8 to 12. Bluma Appell, 416-368-3110 or canadianstage.com.

COMEDY

Monkey Toast May 4. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Kevin McDonald/Bad Dog 10 Year Anniversary May 4. Comedy Bar, 416-551-6540 or comedybar.ca.

Altdot Comedy Lounge May 6. Rivoli, rivoli.ca.

The Meme-ing of Life Indefinite run. Second City, 416-343-0011 or secondcity.com.

FILM

Canadian International Documentary Festival To May 5. hotdocs.ca

Greenwich Village: Music That Defined A Generation May 6 and 15. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

LITERARY & LECTURE

CBC Books Open House Festival’s Get Up! Stand Up! May 4. Convocation Hall, ticketweb.ca.

George Romero Q&A and Night of the Living Dead May 4. Theatre Passe Muraille, 416-504-7529 or passemuraille.on.ca.

Trampoline Hall May 6. Garrison, trampolinehall.net.

EVENTS

Toronto Rush May 4 (home opener). Varsity Stadium, torontorush.com.

Toronto Maple Leaf Baseball Club May 5 (home opener). Dominico Field at Christie Pits Park, leafsbaseball.weebly.com.

Toronto Marathon May 5, torontomarathon.com.

Deep Wireless Festival Of Radio & Transmission To June 1. Artscape Wychwood Barns, deepwireless.ca.

FAMILY

Four Winds Kite Festival May 4 and 5. Kortright Centre for Conservation, 905-832-2289 or kortright.org.

Spring Toad Festival May 4 and 5.Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5999, torontozoo.com.

Stanley's Game Seven Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-360-7735 or hhof.com.

La Fugue May 6 to 16. Young People’s Theatre, 416-862-2222 or youngpeoplestheatre.ca.

Game On 2.0: An Exhibition To Sept. 2. Ontario Science Centre, 416-696-1000 or ontariosciencecentre.ca.

FREE

Free Comic Book Day May 4. freecomicbookday.com.

Al Lerman May 4. Gladstone Hotel, gladstonehotel.com.

A Strauss Serenade May 7 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

Mauro Bertoli May 9 (noon). Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, coc.ca.

BOOKING AHEAD

Al Tuck May 11. Dakota, 416-850-4579.

Toronto Comic Arts Festival May 11 to 12. Toronto Reference Library, 416-533-1968 or torontocomics.com.

Sissy Spacek May 13. Roy Thomson Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Flying Lotus May 15. Sound Academy, ticketweb.ca.

Vampire Weekend May 16. Sony Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

Giant Pandas Opens May 18. Toronto Zoo, 416-392-5999, torontozoo.com.

Cats May 28 (opens). Panasonic Theatre, 416-872-1212 or mirvish.com.

D’Angelo May 31. Sound Academy, ticketfly.com

Fred Penner June 8 (two shows). Enwave Theatre, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

NXNE June 10 to 16. nxne.com.

BB King – The Life of Riley June 14. Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, bloorcinema.com.

Luminato Festival June 14 to 23. luminatofestival.com.

MuchMusic Video Awards June 16. 299 Queen St. W., muchmusic.com.

Hillary Rodham Clinton June 20. Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 416 449-8118.

Toronto Jazz Festival June 20 to 29. torontojazz.com.

Buckwheat Zydeco July 3. Hugh’s Room, 416-531-6604 or hughsroom.com.

Edgefest July 31. Downsview Park, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

The Grove Music Festival Aug. 3. Fort York Garrison Common, thegrovefest.com.

Pat Benatar Aug. 9. Massey Hall, 416-872-4255 or roythomson.com.

Black Sabbath Aug. 14. Air Canada Centre, 1-855-985-5000 or ticketmaster.ca.

bwheeler@globeandmail.com

In the know

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular