Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

AdChoices
A meal is prepared at a Supperworks work station. (Kevin Van Paassen/The Globe and Mail)
A meal is prepared at a Supperworks work station. (Kevin Van Paassen/The Globe and Mail)

THE CHALLENGE CONTEST

Fifty honourable-mention winners for small business contest Add to ...

Who says you can’t jump and whoop it up on the job? That’s what the leaders and staff at Mobilize did when they learned their company was among the 50 most honourable mentions in The Globe and Mail’s Small Business Challenge contest.

“We were jumping for joy in our office,” says Benjamin Guth, program manager at Toronto-based Mobilize, part of the Diamond Global Recruitment Group, which brings young Canadians from different parts of Canada to work in customer service jobs that employers can’t fill with local talent. “It’s an amazing feeling that this is real and people are recognizing us.”

Sponsored by The Globe and Mail and Telus Corp., the Challenge contest is an annual competition with a $100,000 payout for the grand prize winner, and Telus services or devices for 10 regional winners.

This year, to mark its fifth year milestone, the Challenge contest also selected three most promising startups and 50 honourable mentions from the more than 3,300 small businesses that threw their hats into the ring.

“It’s awesome because we get to recognize more companies this year than we have been able to in the past,” says Katherine Scarrow, a Challenge judge and digital content strategist at The Globe.

Here are the 50 honourable mentions in this year’s Challenge contest:

Megacomfort International Inc. (Toronto) www.megacomfort.com

Stasis Preserves (Toronto) www.stasispreserves.com

Saul Good Gift Co. (Vancouver) www.itsaulgood.com

Chart Communications Inc. (Toronto) http://urbantoronto.ca

New Space Technologies Ltd. (Vancouver) www.newspace.ca

Keeners Car Wash (Vancouver) www.keenerscarwash.ca

Khalsa Woodcraft (Surrey, B.C.) www.instagram.com/Khalsawoodcraft

Groovy Goat Farm & Soap Co. (Ingonish, N.S.) www.groovygoat.ca

Petland Vernon (Vernon, B.C.) www.petland.ca

Junkery (Halifax) http://junkery.com

QuickLinkt Solutions (Saskatoon) www.quicklinkt.com/index.php

Faraci Mode Designs (Winnipeg) http://faracimode.com

GoodHome Painting Co. (Vancouver) www.goodhomepainting.com

Nova Coffee Service Ltd. (Lower Sackville, N.S.) www.novacoffee.com

Meadow Vista Honey Wines (Kelowna, B.C.) www.meadowvista.ca

Assurance Designated Driver Services (Winnipeg) www.assurancedd.com

Home Place Inn and Restaurant (Kensington, PEI) www.thehomeplace.ca

Fitz’s Mobile Welding Inc. (Bay Roberts, Nfld.) www.facebook.com/fitzswelding

Swingman Entertainment Group / Sandlot City (Toronto) www.swingmanlive.com

Art Carlos Delgado (Toronto) www.artcarlosdelgado.com

Elder Caring Inc. (Toronto) www.eldercaring.ca

Toronto Safecracker (Toronto) www.torontosafecracker.ca

Equestrian Factory Outlet Canada Inc. (Holland Landing, Ont.) www.equestrianfactoryoutlet.com

Intrigue Media Brantford (Brantford, Ont.) www.intrigueme.ca 

Mobilize (Toronto) www.mobilizejobs.ca

Forbes Wild Foods (Toronto) www.wildfoods.ca

Pineberry Manufacturing Inc. (Oakville, Ont.) www.pineberryinc.com

Sign Language Interpreting Associates Ottawa Inc. (Ottawa) www.sliao.ca

LinkTiger Inc. (Vancouver) https://linktiger.com/

The Depanneur (Toronto) http://thedepanneur.ca

Fabric Spot (Markham, Ont.) www.myfabricspot.com

Mission Business (Toronto) http://themission.biz

Pikanik Creations Corp. (Surrey, B.C.) www.pikanik.ca

LBC Contracting Ltd. (Thunder Bay) www.autoflexsuspensions.com

Bacata Food Group Inc. (Maple Ridge, B.C.) www.naturesclassic.com

Bannikin Travel & Tourism (Toronto) http://bannikin.com

Mariclaro Canada Inc. (Snow Road Station, Ont.) www.mariclaro.ca

PC Computer Cleaning Inc. (Calgary) www.pccompclean.com

DSM Enterprises Ltd. (Calgary) www.squashcannon.com

Haute Goat (Campbellford, Ont.) http://hautegoat.com

Pursu.it (Halifax) www.pursu.it

Maritime Way Scientific Ltd. (Orleans, Ont.) www.maritimeway.ca

Hygiene Performance Solutions (Mississauga) www.hygieneperformancesolutions.com

Coco Café and Cedar Opportunities Co-operative (Nanaimo, B.C.) www.cococafe.ca

Gold Cross Home Care Inc. (Hamilton) http://goldcrosshomecare.com

SupperWorks Inc. (Oakville, Ont.) www.supperworks.com

Smale Farms Ltd. (Mossley, Ont.)

Peter McCann Architectural Models Inc. (Toronto) www.mccann.on.ca

InspectaCar Inc. (Calgary) www.inspectacar.ca

Inrol Custom Simulations and Training Services (Calgary) www.inrol.ca

Dispatch Talent (Toronto) www.dispatchtalent.com

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @GlobeSmallBiz

In the know

The Globe Recommends

loading

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular