Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

A selection of NHL awards

A selection of NHL awards

NHL to hand out year-end awards during one hour television special Add to ...

The NHL has abandoned its year-end awards gala and will reveal its list of major award winners during a one-hour television special before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup final.

The Hart, Calder, Norris and Vezina trophy winners along with the Ted Lindsay Award winners will be announced during the telecast. The recipients of the  Masterton, Selke, King Clancy, Lady Byng trophies, Jack Adams, Mark Messier NHL Leadership, NHL Foundation Player and the NHL General Manager of the Year awards will be announced during a separate broadcast the day before.

Sidney Crosby is nominated for three awards this year - the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance and dedication to hockey, the Ted Lindsay Award which is voted on by members of the NHLPA and the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's MVP. Alex Ovechkin (Hart, Ted Lindsay), Jonathan Toews (Selke, Messier) and Martin St. Louis (Ted Lindsay, Lady Byng) are each nominated for two awards.

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @Globe_Sports


Next story


In the know

The Globe Recommends


Most popular videos »


More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular