Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

AdChoices
Norwegian referee Cristina Pedersen ruled Canadian goalkeeper Erin Mcleod  had violated FIFA's six second rule which resulted in a controversial call and eventual equalizing goal by the United States in Monday's women's Olympic semi-final. (Armando Franca/The Associated Press)

Norwegian referee Cristina Pedersen ruled Canadian goalkeeper Erin Mcleod  had violated FIFA's six second rule which resulted in a controversial call and eventual equalizing goal by the United States in Monday's women's Olympic semi-final.

(Armando Franca/The Associated Press)

FIFA's six second rule

Understanding the controversial call Add to ...

A look at the FIFA rule book and why Norwegian referee Cristiana Pederson awarded the United States a costly free kick in inside the Canadian penalty area in Monday's women's Olympic soccer semi-final:

LAW 12 - Fouls and misconduct

Offences committed by goalkeepers

A goalkeeper is not permitted to keep control of the ball in his hands for more than six seconds. A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball:

- while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. ground own body)

- while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand

- while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or tossing it into the air

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @Globe_Sports

 

In the know

The Globe Recommends

loading

Most popular videos »

Highlights

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular