Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

  (Glenn Lowson for The Globe and Mail)


(Glenn Lowson for The Globe and Mail)

6 to know: The 2013 Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards laureates talk about the moments that shaped their careers Add to ...

In honour of their career achievements, six Canadian artists have been named laureates of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards for Lifetime Artistic Achievement. The 2013 class, to be honoured at a gala in Ottawa on June 1, include the violinist and teacher Andrew Dawes, the producer and singer-songwriter Daniel Lanois, the filmmaker Jean Pierre Lefebvre, the actress and teacher Viola Léger, the actor and arts advocate Eric Peterson, and the dancer, choreographer and artistic director Menaka Thakkar. Each laureate will receive a cash prize of $25,000 (contributed by the Canada Council for the Arts) and a commemorative medallion struck by the Royal Canadian Mint. Also receiving recognition are director-actress Sarah Polley, this year’s recipient of the National Arts Centre Award for her banner year in film, and Montreal arts booster Jean Pierre Desrosiers, the winner of the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts. – BRAD WHEELER

More Related to this Story



Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular