Skip to main content

Stephanie Morgenstern and Mark Ellis, actors and co-writers on the TV show Flashpoint, read together in their Oakville, Ont., home on June 29, 2010.Sarah Dea/The Globe and Mail

The creators of Flashpoint received a special award Monday for their work on the successful police drama, which ended a five-season run on CTV late last year. Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern were presented with the Showrunner Award by the Writers Guild of Canada at the guild's 17th annual awards for screenwriters.

The award ceremony also recognized Martin Gero in the drama category for an episode of The L.A. Complex, a cancelled series about young Canadian performers trying to make it in Hollywood. Kim Coghill won for best comedy for an episode of Less Than Kind, the ongoing series about a dysfunctional Jewish family in Winnipeg.

Mitch Miyagawa won the best documentary prize for A Sorry State, a film about the impact of government apologies on his family, whose members include Chinese immigrants, Japanese internees and former residential school pupils.

Andrew Wreggitt won in the movie and miniseries category for The Phantoms, a TV movie about the 2009 New Brunswick high-school bus crash.

John May and Suzanne Bolch won in the children's category for an episode of How To Be Indie and Dan Williams and Lienne Sawatsky won the animation prize for an episode of Sidekick.

An episode of Julie Strassman-Cohn's and Jill Golick's children's series Ruby Skye P.I. won in the Web series category. Adam Garnet Jones won the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize for Wild Medicine, a script about aboriginal youth.