Skip to main content

British comic troupe Monty Python and Scottish actor Ewan McGregor are to receive achievement awards at today's European Film Prize ceremony in Berlin, the European Film Academy said yesterday.

Monty Python, the troupe behind such comedy classics as The Life of Brian and The Meaning of Life will receive a prize for their body of work. Members Terry Jones, Terry Gilliam and John Cleese are expected to accept the award in the German capital.

McGregor, star of Trainspotting,will be honoured for his role in Moulin Rouge,which the academy called a European contribution to world cinema.

Story continues below advertisement

Eight pictures are nominated for best film at the 14th annual awards ceremony, including Spanish thriller The Others,starring Nicole Kidman, British comedy Bridget Jones' Diary and the French hit Amélie. AFP

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to