Skip to main content

Simu Liu poses for a photograph at the media wall after hosting the 2022 Juno Awards Broadcast, at the Budweiser Stage, in Toronto, on May 15, 2022.Tijana Martin/The Canadian Press

Marvel superhero star Simu Liu returns for an encore performance as host of the Juno Awards.

The “Shang-Chi” actor oversees the celebration of Canadian music for the second consecutive year, where five key Junos will be handed out including album of the year, breakthrough artist and the viewer-voted fan choice award.

When are the Juno Awards?

The 2023 Juno Awards are at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, March 13

Where are the Juno Awards?

The 2023 Juno Awards are at Rogers Place in Edmonton.

How to watch the Juno Awards

Canadians can watch the Junos broadcast live on CBC-TV and CBC Gem.

Yes, Juno-nominated songs are getting shorter

Among the leading contenders are Avril Lavigne, Tate McRae and newcomers Preston Pablo and Reve, who all hold two nominations going into the show.

The Weeknd is also vying for two more Junos after coming out the big winner at a pre-broadcast ceremony for the music industry on Saturday where he picked up four awards, including artist and single of the year for “Sacrifice.”

Nickelback will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame on the Juno broadcast before taking the stage for a roaring rock performance.

Other artists set to play the show include Jessie Reyez, Tenille Townes and Kardinal Offishall and Haviah Mighty who will lead a 50th anniversary tribute to Canadian hip-hop.=

Nominees in key categories

Artist of the year

  • Avril Lavigne
  • Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • Michael Buble
  • Shawn Mendes
  • The Weeknd

Single of the year

  • Bite Me – Avril Lavigne
  • Flowers Need Rain – Preston Pablo and Banx & Ranx
  • When You’re Gone – Shawn Mendes
  • She’s All I Wanna Be – Tate McRae
  • Sacrifice – The Weeknd

Album of the year

  • Who Hurt You? – Ali Gatie
  • Love Sux – Avril Lavigne
  • Demons Protected By Angels – Nav
  • I Used to Think I Could Fly – Tate McRae
  • Dawn FM – The Weeknd

Group of the year

  • Arcade Fire
  • Arkells
  • Billy Talent
  • Metric
  • The Reklaws

Breakthrough artist of the year

  • Dax
  • Devon Cole
  • Preston Pablo
  • RealestK
  • Reve

TikTok Juno fan choice (to be voted on by viewers)

  • Avril Lavigne
  • Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • MacKenzie Porter
  • Preston Pablo
  • Reve
  • Shawn Mendes
  • Tate McRae
  • The Reklaws
  • The Weeknd
  • Tyler Shaw