Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content


Pink Floyd, Renée Fleming awarded Polar Music Prize Add to ...

Soprano Renée Fleming and Pink Floyd band members Nick Mason and Roger Waters have formally received this year's Polar Music Prize.

Sweden's King Carl XVI Gustaf handed the prizes to the winners at a ceremony in the Stockholm Concert Hall yesterday. It was announced in May that the U.S. singer and U.K. rock band would receive the honour this year.

The British rock legends and the opera star were given standing ovations when they arrived to receive the awards, each worth one million kronor or almost $164,000.

The Polar Prize is Sweden's biggest music award and is usually split between pop artists and classical musicians. The 2007 prize went to jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins and composer Steve Reich.

Report Typo/Error

Follow us on Twitter: @GlobeArts


Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular