Skip to main content

The three top money winners in Jeopardy! history will vie for a share of US$1.5-million in January.

ABC and the quiz show’s producer said Monday that Ken Jennings, Brad Rutter and James Holzhauer will compete in prime-time episodes on the network.

The first contestant to win three matches will receive US$1-million. Each runner-up will take home $250,000.

Alex Trebek will host the contest, titled Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time and premiering 8 p.m. Eastern on Jan. 7.

Mr. Rutter is the top all-time money winner with US$4.7-million, followed by Mr. Jennings with US$3.4-million and Mr. Holzhauer with US$2.7-million.

In a statement, Mr. Trebek said the three have proved they qualify as the “greatest,” and now will compete to be “the best of the best.”

Interact with The Globe