Skip to main content

Steve Patterson

Be it resolved that Steve Patterson is one funny fellow.

The Irish-Canadian comic, who hosts the CBC series The Debaters (on radio and television), took home the prize for best male stand-up at this year's Canadian Comedy Awards.

Other winners announced at a ceremony at Toronto's Isabel Bader Theatre on Monday include Debra DiGiovanni (female stand-up), Jason Priestly (male television performance, for HBO Canada's Call Me Fitz) and Picnicface (comedy troupe).

Nominees for the 12th annual awards were selected by a jury chosen by the Canadian Comedy Foundation For Excellence. Voting is permitted by members of the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA), Equity, the Writers Guild of Canada and the Directors Guild of Canada, as well as select members of the comedy community.

2011 Canadian Comedy Awards List of Winners

Best Stand-Up Male: Steve Patterson

Best Stand-Up Female: Debra DiGiovanni

Best Stand-Up Newcomer: Eric Andrews

Best Comedic Play, Revue, or Series: Something Wicked Awesome This Way Comes (The

Second City)

Best One Person Show: Cancer Can't Dance Like This (Daniel Stolfi)

Best Sketch Troupe or Company: Picnicface

Best Improv Troupe or Company: The National Theatre of the World's Impromptu Splendor

Best Male Improviser: Ron Pederson

Best Female Improviser: Sarah Hillier

Best Taped Live Performance: Nikki Payne (Halifax Comedy Fest 2010)

Best Direction, Television Program or Series: James Dunnison ( Less Than Kind)

Best Writing, Television Program or Series: Ken Finkleman ( Good Dog)

Best Television Performance, Male: Jason Priestley ( Call Me Fitz)

Best Television Performance, Female: Brooke Palsson ( Less Than Kind)

Best Television Performance, Ensemble: James Harnett, Hannah Hogan, Alana Johnston, Kayla

Lorette, Joey Lucius, Alex Spencer, AJ Vaage ( That's So Weird)

Best Film Performance, Male: Jay Baruchel ( Good Neighbours)

Best Film Performance, Female: Maria del Mar ( A Touch of Grey)

Best Writing, Film: Jacob Tierney ( Good Neighbours)

Best Direction, Film: Jacob Medjuck ( Summerhood)

Dave Broadfoot Award: Jayne Eastwood

Awards determined by public voting:

Best Radio Clip or Program: This Is That (Pat Kelly and Peter Oldring)

Best Web Clip: That Thing That Happened

Best TV Show: This Movie Sucks!

Best Film: Summerhood

Canadian Comedy Person of the Year: Samantha Bee