Skip to main content

A group of nine artists will receive the 10th annual Governor-General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts at Rideau Hall today.

Sculpture artist John Greer, musician and sculptor Nobuo Kubota, interdisciplinary artist Rita McKeough, filmmaker Robert Morin, architect Raymond Moriyama and painter Gordon Smith are the six recipients of this year's award for an outstanding body of work composed over a significant period of time.

Glass sculptor Kevin Lockau has won the Saidye Bronfman Award for excellence in the fine crafts, and Kim Ondaatje and Tony Urquhart are co-winners of the outstanding contribution award for their dedication in establishing Canadian Artists' Representation/Le Front des artistes canadiens (CARFAC).

Governor-General Michaëlle Jean will present the artists with their awards - along with $25,000 and a special work by printmaker Kenojuak Ashevak - at a ceremony this evening.

Winners will be on show at the National Gallery of Canada from March 27 to June 21.