Skip to main content

The Ontario Liberal Party is set to announce its new leader on Dec. 2.

The party’s executive announced today that it has set out the rules and timelines for the race to replace Steven Del Duca.

He resigned after the Liberals did not win enough seats in the 2022 election to have official party status at the legislature for the second campaign in a row.

Several would-be candidates have said they are exploring leadership bids, including MP Nate Erskine-Smith, MP and former Ontario cabinet minister Yasir Naqvi, and current provincial caucus member and former MP Ted Hsu.

The party says it will soon announce the opening date for official candidate registration, but the deadline has been set as Sept. 5 and candidates must have an entry fee of $100,000 and a refundable $25,000 deposit.

Party members will cast their votes by ranked ballot on Nov. 25 and 26, with the party set to announce round-by-round results the following weekend.

Your Globe

Build your personal news feed

Follow topics related to this article:

Check Following for new articles