Skip to main content

As stars in separate fields, they have discovered new genes, engineered robot arms for space, draped gold medals around their necks and cracked us up on Saturday nights. Together, are receiving one of the highest honors that the country can bestow.

Rideau Hall announced 105 new appointments to the Order of Canada on Friday, a list stocked with leaders in research, community activists, authors, politicians and athletes. Nearly two-thirds of the appointees are men. Half are from Ontario.

Among the health-related appointees are Peter Henry St George-Hyslop, who discovered genes responsible for the early onset of Alzheimer’s disease; Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, who fought to make publicly funded health care more accessible for marginalized people; and Gabor Maté, who brought to light how childhood trauma can lead to addiction later in life.

Many Indigenous leaders are recognized, including Beverley K. Jacobs, the author of Amnesty International’s Stolen Sisters report, which helped bring attention to the number of missing and murdered Indigenous women in Canada and the violence and discrimination that they face. Also named to the Order is Chief Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier, who became the leader of the Okanese First Nation in 1981, making her the the longest-serving female chief in Saskatchewan.

Others are named for deepening our understanding of the environment, from the tiniest species to space and beyond. They include longtime amphibian and reptile scientist Francis R. Cook; Neil G. Turok, who worked with Stephen Hawking to develop a theory about the beginning of the universe, and Virendra K. Jha, who oversaw engineering at the company that created the Canadarm.

Three Canadians are named Companions, the highest honour within the Order: Astronaut Roberta Lynn Bondar, for her educational outreach on the environment; Beverley McLachlin, for her tenure as the first female and longest-serving Canadian Chief Justice; and Saturday Night Live creator Lorne Michaels, for his legendary contributions to comedy.

The full list of appointees is as follows:


Roberta Lynn Bondar, C.C., O.Ont, Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, P.C., C.C., Ottawa, Ont.

Lorne Michaels, C.C., Toronto, Ont. and New York, U.S.


Christiane Ayotte, O.C., Montréal, Que.

The Honourable Perrin Beatty, P.C., O.C., Toronto, Ont.

Chantal Benoit, O.C., Vaughan, Ont.

Lise Bissonnette, O.C., O.Q., Montréal, Que.

Cindy Blackstock, O.C., Ottawa, Ont.

Alain Bouchard, O.C., O.Q., Laval, Que.

Gertrude Bourdon, O.C., Québec, Que.

Gordon Muir Campbell, O.C., O.B.C., Vancouver, B.C.

Matthew Coon Come, O.C., Mistissini, Que.

Wendy Marion Craig, O.C., O.Ont., Kingston, Ont.

Suzanne Fortier, O.C., Montréal, Que.

Sheila Fraser, O.C., Ottawa, Ont.

Julia Gersovitz, O.C., Montréal, Que.

Jane Green, O.C., O.N.L., St. John’s, N.L.

Deanna Hamilton, O.C., Kelowna, B.C.

Patricia Meirion Moore, O.C., Calgary, Alta.

Louise Nadeau, O.C., C.Q., Montréal, Que.

Annette M. O’Connor, O.C., Ottawa, Ont.

Peter Henry St George-Hyslop, O.C., Toronto, Ont. and Cambridge, U.K.

Neil G. Turok, O.C., Waterloo, Ont.


Andrea Baumann, C.M., Hamilton, Ont.

Mohit Bhandari, C.M., Burlington, Ont.

Eli Bornstein, C.M., S.O.M., Saskatoon, Sask.

Robert Bothwell, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Hédi Bouraoui, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Beverley Busson, C.M., C.O.M., O.B.C., North Okanagan Region, B.C.

Barry Callaghan, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

David R. Cameron, C.M., Vancouver, B.C.

John Conly, C.M., Calgary, Alta.

Francis R. Cook, C.M., North Augusta, Ont.

Thomas d’Aquino, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Gary Michael Dault, C.M., Napanee, Ont.

W. Dale Dauphinee, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Marie-Anne Day Walker-Pelletier, C.M., Okanese First Nation, Sask.

Nan-b de Gaspé Beaubien, C.M., Montréal, Que.

M. Jamal Deen, C.M., Hamilton, Ont.

Allan Steven Detsky, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Agnes Di Leonardi, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Peter J. Dillon, C.M., Peterborough, Ont.

Jim Estill, C.M., O.Ont., Guelph, Ont.

Arthur Fogel, C.M., Ottawa, Ont. and Beverly Hills, U.S.

David Glenn Fountain, C.M., Halifax, N.S.

David Fox, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Abraham Fuks, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Patricia (Patsy) Gallant, C.M., Campbellton, N.B.

Laurier Gareau, C.M., Regina, Sask.

Edward H. Garrard, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Jack Gauldie, C.M., Hamilton, Ont.

Nahum Gelber, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Jack Douglas Gerrow, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

The Honourable Ronald D. Ghitter, C.M., Calgary, Alta.

Lieutenant-Colonel (Ret’d) Stéphane Grenier, C.M., M.S.C., C.D., Val-des-Monts, Que.

Mitchell Halperin, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Peter Irwin, C.M., Guelph, Ont.

Beverley K. Jacobs, C.M., Brantford, Ont.

David Trent Jaeger, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Rebecca Jamieson, C.M., Ohsweken, Ont.

Virendra K. Jha, C.M., Baie-d’Urfé, Que.

K. Wayne Johnston, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

David I. Kent, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Dianne Kipnes, C.M., Edmonton, Alta.

Irving Kipnes, C.M., A.O.E., Edmonton, Alta.

Jack Kitts, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Jonathan Klassen, C.M., Toronto, Ont. and Los Angeles, U.S.

Burton Kramer, C.M., O.Ont., Toronto, Ont.

Alan Latourelle, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Gilles Lavigne, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Jean-Pierre Léger, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Rhéal Leroux, C.M., O.Ont., Ottawa, Ont.

Paul-André Linteau, C.M., C.Q., Montréal, Que.

Jon E. Love, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Timothy E. MacDonald, C.M., Stratford, Ont.

Gabor Maté, C.M., Vancouver, B.C.

Seana McKenna, C.M., Stratford, Ont.

Bruce McManus, C.M., Vancouver, B.C.

Edmund Metatawabin, C.M., Fort Albany, Ont.

Morton S. Minc, C.M., Montréal, Que.

David Morley, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Frances Olson, C.M., Edmonton, Alta.

Hilary Pearson, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Sherry Porter, C.M., Halifax, N.S.

The Honourable Lucienne Robillard, P.C., C.M., Chambly, Que.

Calin Rovinescu, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Jean-Claude Savoie, C.M., O.N.B., Saint-Quentin, N.B.

Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Yvonne Steinert, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Veronica Jane Strong-Boag, C.M., Vancouver, B.C.

Mutsumi Takahashi, C.M., Montréal, Que.

Bryce Taylor, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Mark Thompson, C.M., Vancouver, B.C.

Scott Thornley, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Michael J. Tims, C.M., Calgary, Alta.

Mohamed Lamine Touré, C.M., C.Q, Montréal, Que.

Dave Toycen, C.M., O.Ont., Mississauga, Ont.

Aritha van Herk, C.M., Calgary, Alta.

James Patterson Waddell, C.M., Toronto, Ont.

Elizabeth Hillman Waterston, C.M., O.Ont, London, Ont.

Barry Wellar, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Marjorie White, C.M., O.B.C., New Westminster, B.C.

Ronald Franklin Williams, C.M., Pointe-Claire, Que.

Gerald Wood, C.M., Calgary, Alta.

Yiyan Wu, C.M., Ottawa, Ont.

Interact with The Globe