Skip to main content
Open this photo in gallery:

In this NNA nominated photo, an exhausted asylum seeker, bogged down by heavy snow, crosses the Canadian border, in Noyes, Minnesota, February 19th, 2017. (Ian Willms / The Globe and Mail)Ian Willms

In-depth coverage of the killing of Muslim worshippers at a Quebec City mosque, reporting on questionable sexual-assault policing in Canada, an examination of torture and corruption in Asia and an essay on asylum seekers crossing into Manitoba were recognized within The Globe and Mail’s pack-leading 18 nominations for the National Newspaper Awards.

The NNA board of governors announced the shortlist for the annual journalism prize on Monday. Coming second to The Globe’s nomination tally was the Toronto Star, with 12, followed by Montreal’s La Presse with eight. The competition, in its 69th year, is open to approved daily newspapers, news agencies and online news sites.

“The National Newspaper Awards mean so much to journalists across the country,” said David Walmsley, The Globe’s editor-in-chief. “We are delighted to have secured the most nominations, across such diverse areas as international reporting, investigations, business, arts, visual journalism and editorial writing.”

A total of 18 news organizations received nominations in 21 categories. Shortlisters were selected from 881 submissions for work published in 2017.

Seven-time NNA-winner Stephanie Nolen, Latin America correspondent for The Globe, received a pair of nominations: One for a page-turner on a Canadian author who became the leader of a library revolution in Argentina and another for her coverage of suicides, despair and political calamity in South America. Ms. Nolen now has earned 15 total nominations, one short of the record held by Globe cartoonist Brian Gable.

The Globe’s Grant Robertson, who has five previous NNA wins as an individual and one as a member of a team, was nominated for the ninth year in a row. With fellow reporter Tom Cardoso, Mr. Robertson uncovered the fact that at least $1-billion in fines for securities violations had gone unpaid and unenforced by regulators across Canada.

The winners (who will each receive a $1,000 prize) will be announced at an awards ceremony in Toronto on May 4. A year ago, The Globe took top honours in 11 of 21 categories, while its foreign correspondent Mark MacKinnon was named Journalist of the Year.

The Globe’s nominees for 2018:

Arts and Entertainment

Eric Andrew-Gee, for his attempt to reconstruct the disputed and tangled Indigenous heritage of Canadian author Joseph Boyden.

Stephanie Nolen, for a piece on how Argentine-Canadian writer Alberto Manguel was faring as director of Argentina’s national library.

Beat Reporting

Sean Fine, justice reporter, for an examination of Canada’s judicial system after time limits on criminal proceedings were imposed by the Supreme Court.

Marina Strauss, who covers retailing, for a package of stories that included coverage of the demise of Sears Canada and internal strife at Tim Hortons.

Breaking News

A team from The Globe, for coverage of the killing of six Muslim worshippers at a mosque in the Quebec City suburb of Sainte-Foy.


Grant Robertson and Tom Cardoso, for an investigation into unpaid fines and lax enforcement in the Canadian securities industry.


Lawrence Martin, Washington-based public-affairs columnist.


Tony Keller, editorial page editor and 2016 NNA winner.


Stephanie Nolen, for stories about suicide, political crisis and desperation in South America.

Nathan VanderKlippe, for stories about torture and corruption in Asia.


Robyn Doolittle, for “Unfounded,” which revealed how frequently police forces across the country concluded that sexual-assault allegations, even in cases with seemingly strong evidence, did not warrant the laying of charges, or even further investigation.

News Photo

Ian Willms, for a photograph of an asylum seeker from Nigeria fleeing to Canada on a cold, dark night.

Photo Portfolio/Essay

Todd Korol, for an essay looking at the life of rodeo cowboys following the suicide of a bull rider.

Ian Willms, for an essay on 22 asylum seekers who crossed into Canada near the town of Emerson, Man.


Jeremy Agius and Matthew French.

Short Feature

Marcus Gee, for explaining what the death of a small-city newspaper would really mean for that community.

Ingrid Peritz, for recounting the devastating experience of a man who survived the Quebec City mosque shootings.


Marty Klinkenberg, for reporting on the aftermath of the suicide of a young Canadian bull rider.

All nominated entries can be viewed at the NNA website at

Follow related authors and topics

Authors and topics you follow will be added to your personal news feed in Following.

Interact with The Globe