Skip to main content

A group of four First Nations in British Columbia’s Cariboo region have signed an agreement-in-principle with the provincial and federal governments, moving a step closer to establishing a formal treaty.

The agreement-in-principle outlines the elements of a treaty for the four communities, including land and resource ownership, harvesting rights, social services, and processes for transition from the Indian Act to self-governance.

Chief Ann Louie of the T’exelc First Nation of Williams Lake said in a statement that Sunday’s signing was a “great day,” representing the culmination of 25 years of discussions to end the control of the Indian Act on her band.

“We have heard from others who have achieved Final Agreement of the joy of being free of the Indian Act and making their own decisions for themselves, and the benefits they have been able to achieve for their communities and members,” Louie said.

The agreement signed Sunday in the Tsq’escen’ community of Canim Lake begins the final stage of treaty negotiations with the communities that make up the Northern Secwepemc te Qelmucw.

The BC Treaty Commission released a statement several hours later on Sunday, congratulating the parties on the agreement-in-principle and heralding it as a sign of progress for the Cariboo region.

“There are complex reconciliation issues in the area, and today’s signing ... signals a commitment to a new relationship for the whole region,” said Chief Commissioner Celeste Haldane in the release.

A joint statement released by the bands, the Government of Canada and the Government of British Columbia said the treaty informed by the agreement would be guided by the governments’ “new commitments to reconciliation.”

The Northern Secwepemc te Qelmucw is made up of the Stswecem’c-Xgat’tem, the T’exelc, the Tsq’escen’, and the Xat’sull First Nations.

The group represents more than 2,600 people and has been negotiating with the British Columbian and Canadian governments since 1996.