Skip to main content

Since its first win courtesy of Mario Andretti in 1983, the team has proven itself with 107 wins and eight championships in 29 years

1983 Provimi Veal 200 Mario Andretti started on pole and took the team’s first win at the Road America Circuit in Elkhart Lake, Wis. in its sixth race. Andretti added a second win that year in the Caesars Palace Grand Prix at Las Vegas.

1 of 14

1986 Budweiser Portland 200 Mario Andretti won by 0.07 seconds on Father’s Day after passing son Michael, who ran out of fuel within sight of the finish line on the final lap.

2 of 14

1987 Indianapolis 500 An electrical failure with 23 laps to go robbed Mario Andretti of a win and spoiled Newman/Haas’ best chance at an Indy 500 victory. In the end, the team scored 107 wins, 109 poles, and eight championships, but it never won the Indianapolis 500.

3 of 14

1991 Indianapolis 500 Michael Andretti came closest to winning the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” in 1991 when he led for much of the race but lost a late duel with eventual winner Rick Mears (#3 Penske) and finished second.

4 of 14

1993 New England 200 Reigning Formula One World Champion Nigel Mansell celebrated his 40th birthday with a daring outside pass on Paul Tracy with three laps left to take the win in Loudon, N.H., by 0.45 seconds.

5 of 14

1995 IndyCar Australia Paul Tracy (L) kisses Carl Haas after winning the Australian IndyCar grand prix at the Surfers Paradise street circuit March 19. Paul Tracy scored the first of his two wins with Newman/Haas in his second career start for the team. Combining it with a pair of wins by Jacques Villeneuve and another two by Tracy, Australia marked the fifth consecutive Champ Car race where a Canadian took the chequered flag.

6 of 14

Cristiano da Matta driving the Newman/Haas Racing Toyota Lola powers down the front straight during the Grand Prix Americas, round 16 of the CART (Championship Auto Racing Teams) Fed Ex Championship Series on October 6, 2002 in Miami, Florida.JONATHAN FERREY

7 of 14

2002 Grand Prix Americas Cristiano da Matta poses with the Vanderbilt Cup. He took the chequered flag on the streets of Miami, Fla., winning for the seventh time in 16 starts to clinch the Champ Car title with three races to go.

8 of 14

2005 Indianapolis 500 Bruno Junqueira’s career was put in doubt after he suffered two fractured vertebrae in a horrific high-speed crash caused by back marker A.J. Foyt IV who clipped the Newman/Hass driver’s left rear tire while being lapped.

9 of 14

Sebastian Bourdais of France with team owners Paul Newman (R) and Carl Haas (L) of Newman/Haas Racing celebrate winning the Mexico City Grand Prix trophy at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez November 7, 2004 in Mexico City, Mexico.Aubrey Washington

10 of 14

2007 Portland Grand Prix On his way to an unprecedented fourth consecutive championship, Sebastian Bourdais scored Newman/Haas’ 100th victory in U.S open wheel racing.

11 of 14

2008 Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Graham Rahal became the youngest ever winner in IndyCar history after taking the chequered flag on the streets of St. Pete’s in his first career start in the series.

12 of 14

2008 Detroit Grand Prix “This one’s for you Paul,” said Justin Wilson after taking what would be the team’s last win in IndyCar competition, just four weeks prior to the death of the team’s heart and soul, actor Paul Newman.

13 of 14

2011 Kentucky Indy 300 Canadian James Hinchcliffe (No. 6) clinches the IndyCar Rookie of the Year title with a fourth-place finish in Kentucky, joining Sebastian Bourdais and Nigel Mansell as the third Newman-Haas driver to take the award. Pictured here with Oriol Servia (No. 2) and Danica Patrick (No. 7)

14 of 14