Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Spring's battling fashion trends are all winners

This spring, style is a battlefield. But whether it's fruit prints pitted against florals or hyped-up hues clashing with monochromatics, there are countless options - and the winner is you

1 of 6

Monochromatic While this side of the style spectrum reads much more subdued, head-to-toe pigment still packs a punch, especially if you fully commit. Carry the tone all the way through with bold belts, booties and bangles. Maison Martin Margiela jumpsuit, $1,240 at the Room. CBGMAXAZRIA belt, $58, boots $274. House of Harlow bangles, $195 at Holt Renfrew (HoltRenfrew.com).

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

2 of 6

Megachromatic Hyper hues break free from the crayon box this season and tint everything from duds to delicate details. Go ahead and colour outside the lines: Just remember to keep your accessories in complementary shades to produce the most powerful pop. Michael Kors dress, $3,495 through www.michaelkors.com. American Apparel tights, $17 through www.americanapparel.net. Vintage earrings, $295, at Courage My Love. Yves Saint Laurent belt, $525 at Holt Renfrew. Pierre Hardy shoes, $795 at the Room.

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

3 of 6

Fruit Juicy motifs take a cue from sassy Samba star Carmen Miranda, but where the fruit fetishist went bananas with headpieces alone, this time the produce patterns are top to toe. Liven up the cocktail with punchy accessories such as citrus-inspired pins or grape-cluster earrings. Roberto Cavalli dress, $1,995 at Holt Renfrew (www.holtrenfrew.com). Vintage brooch, dress clip, beads and earrings, $10 - $60, at Courage My Love in Toronto (416-979-1992). Enzo Angiolini shoes, $150 at Nine West (www.ninewest.ca).

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

4 of 6

Floral Yes, petal prints sprout up each spring, but this year?s are far from garden variety. Washed out and water-coloured, the new blooms are subtle enough to be worn in abundance. Mix and match textures and patterns, but remember to ground the look with neutral accents, such as chunky wedges or heels. Erdem blouse, $630 and skirt $2,225 at the Room (www.hbc.com). Lara Vincent headband, price upon request through www.laravincent.com. Max Azria Shoes, $474 at through www.bcbg.com.

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

Story continues below advertisement

5 of 6

Shine From glossy jackets to slick slacks, it's time to party like it's 1979. Channel Studio 54 fixture Bianca Jagger's swagger with draped trousers and a big bold blazer ? she often rocked hers with nothing underneath but if that?s too bold, just add a camisole. Louis Vuitton jacket, $2,650, cummerbund $975, shoes, $835 through www.louisvuitton.com. BCBGMAXAZRIA pants, $166. Eddie Borgo earrings, $295 at Holt Renfrew.

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

6 of 6

Sheer The heat is finally on, so why not crank it up even more by showing a little skin? Transparent pieces are nothing new, but multiple layers of sheer stuff ? with a nude bodysuit underneath, natch ? create subtle sex appeal perfect for spring. Jeremy Laing dress and skirt, price upon request through www.jeremylaing.com. Calla dress (worn underneath) price upon request through www.calla.fr. Holt Renfrew cuff, $65. Maison Martin Margiela shoes, $795 at the Room.

Adam Levett/Adam Levett

Report an error