Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

The nominees are in for the 2015 Canadian Arts and Fashion Awards

Lyndon Cormack, founder of Herschel Supply Co., is photographed at his headquarters in Vancouver, Friday, May 24, 2013.

Rafal Gerszak/The Globe and Mail

The country's fashion industry elite will gather on Jan. 31 to find out who will win a CAFA award; the nominees were revealed last night at the Spoke Club at a private event.

The jury, comprised of style notables, from model Coco Rocha to chief creative officer at ALDO Douglas Bensadoun, will select the winners in categories such as Womenswear Designer of the Year, Menswear Designer of the Year, Outstanding Achievement and International Canadian Designer of the Year. Nominees include familiar names like Herschel Supply Co. (Accessory Design of the Year) and Tommy Ton (Fashion Blogger of the Year).

Several new categories were introduced for this year's awards, including the Swarovski Emerging Talent Award for Fashion Design and for Accessory Design. The winners will receive mentorship from an illustrious panel including Natasha Koifman, president of public relations firm NKPR; Byron and Dexter Peart, co-founders and designers of WANT Les Essentials de la Vie (and also winners of last year's Accessory Designer of the Year award); and Jan Kaplan, owner/president of Mendocino and M. Each Emerging Talent winner will also receive a $10,000 cash prize.

Story continues below advertisement

Yesterday's ceremony also introduced the Canadian Fashion Fund, which aims to stimulate the financial progress of underfunded, high-growth investment opportunities in the industry.

For a full list of nominees, visit

Report an error Editorial code of conduct Licensing Options
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles as we switch to a new provider. We are behind schedule, but we are still working hard to bring you a new commenting system as soon as possible. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to