Skip to main content

Rachel Notley is applauded after being sworn in as Alberta’s 17th premier in Edmonton, Alta., on Sunday, May 24, 2015.Jason Franson/The Canadian Press

The winners of last month's election are now officially members of the Alberta legislature.

Premier Rachel Notley and 51 members of her caucus have been sworn in as MLAs, granting them the privilege to sit and conduct business in the house.

Notley announced her 12-member cabinet last week.

It's a busy time for the new government.

A new Speaker will be chosen on June 11, followed by a short legislature session.

A full session, including a new budget, takes place in the fall.