Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content


Mayor announces 2010 Arts Awards Add to ...

Vancouver poet and novelist Evelyn Lau and PuSh International Performing Arts Festival executive director Norman Armour are among the recipients of this year's Mayor's Arts Awards. Lau (Living Under Plastic) was named the winner in the literary arts category and Armour, whose edgy PuSh Festival has become one of the most anticipated events on the arts calendar, wins in the theatre category.

Other winners include textile artist Ruth Scheuing for craft and design; Blue Water Cafe executive chef Frank Pabst for culinary arts; Cease Wyss (Indigenous Plant Diva) for Film and New Media; photo-conceptual artist Christos Dikeakos for visual arts, sculptor George Norris (whose sculpture The Crab can be seen outside the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre/Museum of Vancouver) for public art; Carmen Rosen, founder of Still Moon Arts Society and the Renfrew Ravine Moon Festival for community arts; Co.Erasga founder and artistic director Alvin Erasga Tolentino for dance; and percussionist Sal Ferreras for music.

Philanthropist Yosef Wosk, prolific volunteer Betty Lou Phillips and Rio Tinto Alcan will all be recognized for their support of the arts, when the awards are handed out on November 24.

In each category, the winner is asked to share the award with an emerging artist who "demonstrates the promise of the next generation." In the studio arts categories, Scheuing chose sculptor Sharon Kallis, who works with organic, shed or unwanted materials such as leaves, hair and garden clippings; Pabst chose the Canadian World Culinary Olympics Youth Team; Wyss chose blogger Dustin Rivers; Lau chose freelance music writer Kaitlin Fontana; Dikeakos chose urban artist Alex Morrison (Making Beer More Expensive); Norris chose Reece Terris (Ought Apartment) and Rosen chose Maggie Winston, founder of the Lost & Found Puppet Co.

In the performing arts categories, Tolentino chose classical Indian dancer Sujit Vaidya; Ferreras chose saxophonist, clarinetist and vocalist Evan Arntzen; and Armour chose Tanya Marquardt, a writer and multi-disciplinary artist who has performed works on street benches, in bathrooms - and in theatres.

The winners were announced on Monday.

Report Typo/Error

Follow on Twitter: @marshalederman


Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular