Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

A look at the departing OLG board members

OLG chairman Paul Godfrey has run afoul of the new government.

Peter Power/The Globe and Mail

Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corp.'s board of directors resigned Thursday after the Wynne government ousted chairman Paul Godfrey. This is the second time in four years the OLG board has stepped down en masse. Here is a look at the departing board members.

Paul Godfrey

Appointed OLG chairman in February, 2010. Ousted on Thursday, well before his tenure was scheduled to end in February, 2015. Mr. Godfrey is president and CEO of Postmedia Network Inc. A prominent Progressive Conservative, he was first elected to public office in 1964 and served as chairman of Metropolitan Toronto from 1973 to 1984. He led efforts to bring Major League Baseball to Toronto in the 1970s and served as president and CEO of the Blue Jays baseball club from 2000 to 2008. He is a member of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario.

Story continues below advertisement

Anthony Melman of Toronto

Appointed in February, 2010, Mr. Melman was on leave from the OLG board. He is chairman and CEO of Nevele Inc. Previously, he was founding partner and vice-president of Onex Corp.

Jan Westcott of Oakville

Appointed in September, 2010. Mr. Westcott resigned on Thursday, but he did not sign onto the protest letter sent to Finance Minister Charles Sousa. Mr. Westcott is president and CEO of Spirits Canada/Association of Canadian Distillers. He is a former president and CEO of Brewers of Ontario.

Shirley Hoy of Toronto

Appointed in February, 2010. Ms. Hoy, CEO at Toronto Lands Corp., was a signatory of the protest letter to Mr. Sousa. She is a former chief administrative officer and city manager for the City of Toronto.

Thomas O'Brien of Tecumseh

Story continues below advertisement

Appointed in February, 2010, Mr. O'Brien was part of the protest letter. Mr. O'Brien was with PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP from 1973 to 2010, serving as a partner for 26 years. He is currently an independent consultant on business and finance matters and a partner in Coopers Hawk Vineyards in Harrow, Ont.

William Swirsky of Toronto

Appointed in February, 2010. Chief executive officer of William J.L. Swirsky & Associates, Mr. Swirsky was a signatory of the protest letter. He is a former vice-president of knowledge development at the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Ron Carinci of Toronto

Appointed in September, 2010, Mr. Carinci was part of the protest letter. He is chief operating officer at Urbacon. Previously, he was senior counsel at the law firm of Lang Michener LLP.

Jason Melbourne of Toronto

Story continues below advertisement

Appointed in September, 2010, Mr. Melbourne was a signatory of the protest letter. He is managing director of institutional equity sales and trading at CanaccordGenuity. Mr. Melbourne is a board member of the Crescent School Foundation.

Monique Wilberg of North Vancouver

Appointed in September, 2010, Ms. Wilberg was previously chief operating officer of Gateway Casinos and Entertainment Inc. Ms. Wilberg is currently an investor and advisor to the Marina Del Sol Development in Concepcion, Chile. She was part of the protest letter.

Source: Public Appointments Secretariat, Government of Ontario

Report an error Licensing Options
About the Author
National news reporter

Renata joined The Globe and Mail's Toronto newsroom in March of 2011. Raised in the Greater Toronto Area, Renata spent nine years reporting in Alberta for the Calgary Herald and the Edmonton Journal, covering crime, environment and political affairs. More


The Globe invites you to share your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful to everyone. For more information on our commenting policies and how our community-based moderation works, please read our Community Guidelines and our Terms and Conditions.

We’ve made some technical updates to our commenting software. If you are experiencing any issues posting comments, simply log out and log back in.

Discussion loading… ✨