Skip to main content

Alberta's Famous Five have been posthumously made honorary senators, reports the CBC.

The Senate voted this week to bestow the recognition on Emily Murphy, Henrietta Muir Edwards, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney and Irene Parlby.

In 1929, the quintet won a landmark court ruling that recognized women as persons and allowed them to sit in the appointed Senate.

The idea to name the women honorary senators came from Calgary journalist Catherine Ford.

"I thought, wouldn't that be just gracious of Canada as a country to say, 'These five women did so much for the women of Canada. Let's give them a singular honour,' " said Ms. Ford, a retired national columnist for the Canwest News Service.

Ford said she was "stunned" and "so pleased for women" when she heard the five were being recognized for their work.

It's the first time the Senate has named anyone an honorary senator.