Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Governor-General David Johnston oversees a ceremony giving royal assent to government legislation in the Senate on Dec. 12, 2013. (PATRICK DOYLE/THE CANADIAN PRESS)
Governor-General David Johnston oversees a ceremony giving royal assent to government legislation in the Senate on Dec. 12, 2013. (PATRICK DOYLE/THE CANADIAN PRESS)

Artists, scientists, educators among new Order of Canada appointments Add to ...

Diversity of accomplishment is the great theme of the Order of Canada, and figures prominently among the 90 newest appointees, from Morton Doran, a surgeon with Tourette Syndrome, to Dick Irvin, the longtime broadcaster of Montreal Canadiens games on CBC-TV, to Gilles Brassard, who brought quantum physics to computing.

The honour, established in 1967 by the Queen, recognizes contributions to Canada; its motto, desiderantes meliorem patriam, means “they desire a better country.” Appointees are made on the recommendation of an independent advisory council headed by Canada’s Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Beverley McLachlin.

Arts and culture is the most popular category, and its diverse roster includes actor Colm Feore, recognized for bridging anglophone and francophone cultures through his bilingual performances; Inuk artist Elisapee Ishulutaq; composer R. Murray Schafer, named a Companion of the Order of Canada, the highest recognition; Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor of the country rock band Blue Rodeo; novelist and sculptor Douglas Coupland; mystery novelist Louise Penny; and film director Sarah Polley. Journalists include public television current affairs host Steve Paikin; Quebec sports journalist Marie-José Turcotte, the first woman to do sports reporting on Quebec television; and fashion journalist Jeanne Beker.

Apart from Mr. Schafer, the new Companions are Marie Deschamps, a retired Supreme Court justice; Donald Mazankowski, a former federal cabinet minister who has spearheaded studies on health care; and Margaret McCain, a former lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick who co-authored a study on early childhood development that continues to influence the field of child care.

Business, philanthropy, science and medicine, social justice and education are other popular categories, and several appointments recognize contributions to the north, and to aboriginal peoples.

The appointees are listed below as provided by Rideau Hall, grouped by the three levels of Companion (the highest rank, recognizing national pre-eminence or international service or achievement), Officer and Member.

Promotions, rather than new appointments to the Order, are listed separately below.

Companions of the Order of Canada

The Honourable Marie Deschamps, C.C. Montreal. For her numerous contributions as a jurist and for her dedication to youth development.

R. Murray Schafer, C.C. Indian River, Ont. For his contributions as an internationally renowned composer of contemporary music, and for his groundbreaking work in acoustic ecology.

Officers of the Order of Canada

Gilles Brassard, O.C. Montreal. For his contributions to computer science as a pioneer in the application of quantum physics to information processing.

Douglas Coupland, O.C. West Vancouver, B.C. For his contributions to our examination of the contemporary human condition as a novelist, cultural commentator and artist.

James Gordon Cuddy, O.C. and James Gregory Keelor, O.C. Toronto. For their contributions to Canadian music and for their support of various charitable causes.

John Daniel, O.C. Vancouver. For his advancement of open learning and distance education in Canada and around the world.

Colm Feore, O.C. Stratford, Ont. For his contributions as an actor of the stage and screen, notably by bridging Anglophone and Francophone cultures as a fluently bilingual performer.

Sherrill E. Grace, O.C. Vancouver. For her contributions to promoting Canadian culture and identity through her collection of published works.

Nancy Hermiston, O.C. Vancouver. For her achievements as an opera singer, stage director and educator.

Daniel Ish, O.C. Saskatoon. For his commitment to social justice, notably as the former chief adjudicator of the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat.

David Jenkins, O.C. Toronto. For his contributions as a nutrition scientist committed to helping Canadians make informed food choices.

Patrick Delamere Lafferty, O.C. Ottawa. For his contributions to the advancement of Canada’s medical research infrastructure.

Steve Paikin, O.C. Toronto. For his contributions as a journalist who engages, informs and educates viewers on a broad range of public policy issues.

Eliot A. Phillipson, O.C. Toronto. For his contributions to the field of sleep medicine and for his visionary stewardship of health and science institutions.

Sarah Polley, O.C. Toronto. For her contributions to Canadian cinema and television as an actor, writer and director.

Glenn Pushelberg, O.C. and George Yabu, O.C. Toronto. For their contributions to design excellence internationally, notably by bringing their creative outlook to public spaces, and for promoting the Canadian design industry.

Keren Rice, O.C. Toronto. For her contributions as a linguist and scholar whose research on Canada’s North has notably helped to preserve the Athapaskan languages.

The Honourable J.J. Michel Robert, P.C., O.C. Montréal. For his achievements in the field of law as a lawyer and jurist, and for his commitment to advancing his profession.

Michael Rudnicki, O.C. Ottawa. For contributing to scientific breakthroughs in the area of muscle development, and for his leadership in stem cell research.

Report Typo/Error
Single page

Follow on Twitter: @seanfineglobe

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular