Skip to main content

Former premier Ralph Klein, at the unveiling of his official portrait at the Alberta Legislature Rotunda in Edmonton, Alta. on Thursday, August 30, 2007.John Ulan/The Canadian Press

A former Supreme Court justice, a renowned historian, a former premier and a legendary hockey coach are among the latest additions to the Order of Canada.

Ian Binnie, who retired from the high court last year, has been named a companion of the order, its highest rank.

Natalie Zemon Davis, a University of Toronto historian and author of The Return of Martin Guerre, is also named a companion, as is Montreal conductor Yannick Nezet-Seguin.

Former Alberta premier Ralph Klein is named a new officer of the order, along with veteran TV journalist Craig Oliver and Michael Pitfield, a former senator and one-time clerk of the Privy Council.

Pat Quinn, who coached five different NHL teams during a storied career and led Team Canada to an Olympic goal medal in 2002, is also a new officer.

There are 69 new additions to the order and one promotion.

Quebec violinist Angele Dubeau, who was named a member in 1996, is promoted to officer.

Among the other new officers are:

— Chantal Hebert, a well-known political columnist.

— Paul Hoffman, a British Columbia geologist known for landmark research on the Precambrian period.

— Marianne McKenna, a noted Toronto architect.

— John Richard of Ottawa, former chief justice of the Federal Court of Appeal.

Notables named as members include:

— Silver Donald Cameron, a Nova Scotia journalist, writer and community activist.

— Greg Hollingshead, an Edmonton author and winner of the Governor General's Award for Fiction in 1995

— Frances Lankin, a former Ontario cabinet minister and retired CEO of the Toronto United Way.

—Des McAnuff, outgoing artistic director of the Stratford Shakespeare Festival and a two-time Tony award winner.

— Lino Saputo, a Quebec businessman and philanthropist and founder of the cheese company which bears his name.

The actual awards will be presented at ceremonies later this year.

The complete list


Ian Corneil Binnie, Toronto.

Natalie Zemon Davis, Toronto.

Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Montreal.


Robert G. Bertram, Aurora, Ont.

Jean Bissonnette, Montreal.

Francine Decary, Montreal.

Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Toronto.

Angele Dubeau, Westmount, Que.

Chantal St-Cyr Hebert, Montreal.

Paul F. Hoffman, Victoria, B.C.

Prabhat Jha, Toronto.

Ralph Klein, Calgary.

Maryse Lassonde, Montreal.

John Last, Ottawa.

Jean-Francois Lepine, Ville Mont-Royal, Que.

Hadi-Khan Mahabadi, Mississauga, Ont.

Ermanno Mauro, Mississauga, Ont.

Marianne McKenna, Toronto.

Craig Oliver, Ottawa.

Michael Pitfield, Ottawa.

Sharon Pollock, Calgary.

John Brian (Pat) Quinn, West Vancouver, B.C.

John D. Richard, Ottawa.

Cecil H. Rorabeck, London, Ont.

Louise Roy, Montreal.

Gordon Semenoff, Surrey, B.C.

Gilles Tremblay, Montreal.

Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, Sackville, N.B.


Carolyn Acker, Toronto.

Dyane Adam, Saint-Francois-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, Que.

Patsy Anderson, Toronto.

Allan Gordon Bell, Cochrane, Alta.

Rabbi Arthur Norman Bielfeld, Toronto.

Roger Bland, Edmonton.

Robert B. Bourne, London, Ont.

Pierre Bruneau, Montreal.

John Buhler, Winnipeg.

Silver Donald Cameron, Halifax.

Stephen Chatman, Vancouver.

Guy Corneau, Montreal.

Franklin Delaney, Beaconsfield, Que.

Wadih M. Fares, Halifax.

Anthony (Tony) Fields, Edmonton.

Allan Gotlib, Thornhill, Ont.

Michel Goulet, Montreal.

Alia Hogben, Gananoque, Ont.

Greg Hollingshead, Edmonton.

Nancy Kilgour, Calgary.

Henry Kloppenburg, Saskatoon.

Merril Knudtson, Calgary.

Frances Lankin, Restoule, Ont.

Louis LaPierre, Moncton.

William Laskin, Toronto.

Monique F. Leroux, Montreal.

Guy Maddin, Winnipeg.

Salem Masry, Fredericton.

Kenneth Maybee, New Maryland, N.B.

Des McAnuff, Stratford, Ont.

Elizabeth McWeeny, Thunder Bay, Ont.

Lois Mitchell, Calgary.

Bernice Morgan, St. John's, N.L.

Marian Packham, Toronto.

Gordon Rawlinson, Calgary and Prince Albert, Sask.

Jean-Guy Rioux, Pointe-Brulee, N.B.

Michele Rouleau, Montreal.

Marie Saint Pierre, Montreal.

Emanuele (Lino) Saputo, Senneville, Que.

Steven Schipper, Winnipeg.

Cyril Simard, Quebec City.

Laure Waridel, Montreal.