Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail has won five National Newspaper Awards for 2013, tying with The Toronto Star for top spot in the most prestigious annual competition for Canadian newspapers.

Michèle Ouimet of La Presse won two individual honours as the 65th annual NNAs were handed out Friday in Charlottetown.

There were 69 finalists in 22 categories, selected from 1,206 entries. The Globe had 14 short-listed finalists, while The Star had 13 and La Presse followed with nine.

"We're incredibly proud that the Globe was recognized for the breadth and ambition of its journalism," said The Globe's editor-in-chief, David Walmsley. "These nominations and awards are a testament to our journalists' commitment to excellence in a wide range of fields, from business and international coverage to politics, culture, photography and design."

The NNAs are open to daily newspapers, news agencies and online news sites approved for entry by the NNA Board of Governors. Winners receive cheques for $1,000 and a certificate of award. Other finalists received citations of merit.

The Globe's winners:


A team of reporters – Sean Silcoff, Jacquie McNish, Steve Ladurantaye, Tim Kiladze, Iain Marlow and Boyd Erman – won for an in-depth analysis of the rapid decline of BlackBerry maker Research in Motion from a global technology leader to a company struggling to stay alive, including its change in business strategy and a new CEO and perhaps a new lease on life.


Dakshana Bascaramurty took first place for her coverage of the suburban communities surrounding Toronto. She wrote features on an explosion of young new immigrants that has remade Brampton, Ont.; Mississauga entrepreneur Vasu Chanchlani; the popularity of multigenerational family living in Brampton; and grocery stores wars in Markham, Ont.


Grant Robertson won for a story that went inside the tightly controlled U.S. oil industry to investigate the deadly cargo of crude oil that was carried by the train that derailed and exploded in Lac-Mégantic.


Moe Doiron captured the prize in this category for a picture of Toronto Mayor Rob Ford sitting alone in council chambers, wearing a Toronto Argonauts jersey.

. Toronto Mayor Rob Ford, wearing an Argos CFL jersey, sits in council chambers as he awaits a motion to strip him from Mayoral powers following a tumultuous day at City Hall. THE GLOBE AND MAIL MOE DOIRON THE GLOBE AND MAIL


Designer Jason Chiu won for designing a feature about the survivors of the Lac-Mégantic train explosion.

The other Globe entries that were finalists were:


The Globe had two finalists in this category. One went to the team of Steven Chase, Boyd Erman and Daniel Leblanc for their reporting on the role of Prime Minister Stephen Harper's adviser Nigel Wright in the Mike Duffy Senate expense scandal: a profile of Mr. Wright, a story on his resignation and a story on his supporters. A second nomination is for Gary Mason for a reported analysis on the B.C. Liberal Party's comeback election win.


Mark MacKinnon and Marina Strauss were short-listed for their work following a T-shirt's trail from the cotton fields of China through a vast network of foreign factories to Canadian store shelves and investigating underage labour in Cambodia.


Finalists were James Adams and Ian Brown. Mr. Adams wrote on a quest to authenticate a painting as an original Edward Hopper, artist Shary Boyle's challenge of representing Canada at the Venice Biennale and a review of the film Inside Llewyn Davis. Mr. Brown wrote a profile of Mikhail Baryshnikov, a story about artist Alex Emond, who works in the 150-year-old "plein air" tradition, and a feature about the problem of judging photography in an age where cameras are ubiquitous.


John Allemang was short-listed for a piece exploring the pleasures, and the pleasurable pain, of crossword puzzles.


A team of Globe staffers made it to the finals for Our Time to Lead: The Wealth Paradox, a series of stories that measured and analyzed the real impact of income inequality in Canada as it is shaping cities, schools, social programs – and even the national sport. The writers: Barrie McKenna, Tavia Grant, Greg Keenan, Janet McFarland, Konrad Yakabuski, James Mirtle, Kelly Cryderman, André Picard, Caroline Alphonso, Simon Houpt and Joanna Slater. The editors: Nicole MacAdam, Claire Neary, Laura Blenkinsop (interactive) and Chris Manza (interactive), Angela Pacienza (video).


Tony Keller was short-listed for editorials on the ideology of Rob Fordism, the future of the CBC after the loss of Hockey Night in Canada to Rogers, and Conservative Michael Chong's private member's bill aimed at shifting some power back to MPs.


Brian Gable was a finalist for Editorial Cartooning for the 14th time. He has won six times.