Go to the Globe and Mail homepage

Jump to main navigationJump to main content

Order of Canada medals at the investiture ceremony at Winnipeg’s Fort Garry Hotel on Saturday November 30, 2002. (Marc Gallant/CP)
Order of Canada medals at the investiture ceremony at Winnipeg’s Fort Garry Hotel on Saturday November 30, 2002. (Marc Gallant/CP)

Hockey greats Paul Henderson and Ken Dryden among latest Order of Canada recipients Add to ...

Just a few months after the 40th anniversary of Canada’s Summit Series with the Soviet Union, two of the men who played in that legendary contest are set to be inducted into the Order of Canada.

Paul Henderson, who scored the series-winning goal, becomes a member of the order, recognized not only for his athletic prowess but also for his volunteer work; Ken Dryden, the Canadiens’ goaltender-turned author-turned politician, becomes an officer.

Among the other big names among the 91 people on the list are Supreme Court Justice Louise Charron, former deputy prime minister Sheila Copps, First Nations leader Phil Fontaine, documentarian Bonnie Sherr Klein and Heather Reisman, the CEO of Indigo.

Here is the full list:

Two Companions of the order of Canada

For a lifetime of outstanding achievement and merit of the highest degree, especially in service to Canada or to humanity at large.

  • Louise Charron, Ottawa, for her contributions as a noted jurist and for her commitment to French common-law education.
  • L. Jacques Ménard, Montreal, for his achievements as a leader in Canada’s business community, and for his engagement in social causes and his philanthropy.

33 Officers of the Order of Canada

For a lifetime of achievement and merit of a high degree, especially in service to Canada or to humanity at large.

  • Arnold Boldt, Saskatoon, for his achievements in sport and for his contributions as a role model for people with disabilities.
  • Paul G. Cherry, Saint John, for his commitment to improving financial reporting, notably through his leadership in developing international accounting standards.
  • Sheila Copps, Ottawa, for her many contributions to Canadian politics, notably as a champion of cultural issues at the national and international levels.
  • Julie M. Cruikshank, Vancouver, for her contributions as an anthropologist whose research in the North has helped to preserve the history of Indigenous peoples.
  • Ken Dryden, Toronto, for his contributions to Canadian life in hockey, law, writing and politics, notably as a champion of literacy and the prevention of sports-related brain injuries.
  • Phil Fontaine, Ottawa, for his contributions on behalf of First Nations, notably his role in the resolution of claims arising from the Indian residential schools issue.
  • Paul-André Fortier, Montreal, for raising the profile of Canadian contemporary dance on the world stage, as a dancer, choreographer, educator and artistic director.
  • Michael Fullan, Toronto, for his achievements in the field of education reform, as a scholar, teacher, writer and adviser to governments in Canada and abroad.
  • Colonel John Alan Gardam, Ottawa, for his volunteer efforts on behalf of peacekeepers and veterans, following his retirement from a decorated career in the Canadian Forces.
  • Scott Griffin, Toronto, for his contributions as a philanthropist and for advancing poetry worldwide through the Griffin Prize for Poetry.
  • Jean Grondin, Montréal, for his contributions as one of the world’s leading experts on German philosophy, notably his original research on hermeneutics.
  • Michael Franklin Harcourt, Vancouver, for his leadership on civic, legal and sustainability issues, and for promoting spinal cord research.
  • Clyde Hertzman, Vancouver, for his contributions to population health and early childhood development in Canada and abroad.
  • Bonnie Sher Klein, Vancouver, for her achievements as a filmmaker, writer and social activist who used her work to shed light on the issues of peace, women’s rights and the lives of people with disabilities.
  • Veronica Lacey, Toronto, for her contributions as a teacher and administrator in support of quality public education.
  • Alain Lemaire and Laurent Lemaire, Kingsey Falls, Que., for their contributions to Canada’s business community, notably helping to make the family company Cascades an international model of sustainable development and community engagement.
  • Michel Lemieux, Montreal, for his contributions to the performing arts in Canada and abroad, as a director, designer and pioneering multidisciplinary artist.
  • Roderick Alexander Macdonald, Westmount, Que., for his accomplishments as a legal scholar, notably his contributions to the advancement of law and policy in Canada and abroad.
  • M.G. Venkatesh Mannar, Ottawa, for his leadership in the global fight against malnutrition and micronutrient deficiency.
  • Roald Nasgaard, Toronto, for promoting contemporary Canadian art to Canadian and international audiences, notably as chief curator of the Art Gallery of Ontario and as the author of Abstract Painting in Canada.
  • Victor Pilon, Montreal, for his contributions to the performing arts in Canada and abroad, as a director, designer, photographer and pioneering multidisciplinary artist.
  • Donald Ross, Toronto, for his wide-ranging and largely anonymous philanthropic contributions in support of educational, social service, cultural and environmental causes.
  • John D. Ross, Iroquois, Ont., for his contributions as a technology innovator, developing products at the forefront of broadcast engineering.
  • Danièle Sauvageau, Deux-Montagnes, Que., for her advancement of women’s hockey in Quebec and Canada, notably as a gold medal-winning Olympic coach.
  • David W. Scheifele, Surrey, B.C., for his contributions to improved child health care in Canada, through the prevention of infectious disease.
  • Ronald P. Schlegel, Ayr, Ont., for his entrepreneurial and philanthropic contributions to improving the care of seniors in Canada.
  • Rosemary Sullivan, Toronto, Ont., for her contributions to Canadian literature, as a biographer, poet and author of fiction.
  • Rachel Thibeault, Ottawa, for expanding the boundaries of occupational therapy and advocacy on behalf of people with disabilities.
  • Brian Tobin, Manotick, Ont., for contributing to Canadian public policy as a federal and provincial politician, and for supporting economic development in Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • Ian Hugh Wallace, Vancouver, B.C., for helping to shape Canada’s contemporary art scene over the past 50 years as one of the most influential art photographers of his generation.
  • Lise Watier, Mont-Royal, Que., for her achievements as one of Canada’s leading businesswomen, and for her patronage of organizations that help women and children escape the cycle of poverty.
  • Richard Waugh, Toronto, for his contributions to strengthening the financial services industry in Canada and abroad.

56 Members of the Order of Canada

Report Typo/Error
Single page

Follow us on Twitter: @globeandmail

Next story




Most popular videos »

More from The Globe and Mail

Most popular