Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

A full list of the new and old faces in Stephen Harper’s cabinet

Prime Minister Stephen Harper and his wife Laureen arrive for the swearing in of the federal cabinet at Rideau Hall in Ottawa on Monday, July 15, 2013.


Prime Minister Stephen Harper has shuffled his federal cabinet. Below is a full list of its members (in order of precedence):

  • Stephen Harper, prime minister;
  • Bernard Valcourt, minister of aboriginal affairs and northern development;
  • Rob Nicholson, minister of national defence;
  • Peter MacKay, minister of justice and attorney general of Canada;
  • Rona Ambrose, minister of health;
  • Diane Finley, minister of public works and government services;
  • John Baird, minister of foreign affairs;
  • Tony Clement, president of the Treasury Board;
  • Jim Flaherty, minister of finance;
  • Peter Van Loan, government leader in the House of Commons;
  • Jason Kenney, minister of employment and social development;
  • Gerry Ritz, minister of agriculture and agri-food;
  • Christian Paradis, minister of international development and minister for La Francophonie;
  • James Moore, minister of industry;
  • Denis Lebel, minister of infrastructure, communities and intergovernmental affairs and minister of the economic development agency of Canada for the regions of Quebec;
  • Leona Aglukkaq, minister of the environment, minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and minister for the Arctic Council;
  • Lisa Raitt, minister of transport;
  • Gail Shea, minister of fisheries and oceans;
  • Julian Fantino, minister of veterans affairs;
  • Steven Blaney, minister of public safety;
  • Ed Fast, minister of international trade;
  • Joe Oliver, minister of natural resources;
  • Kerry-Lynne Findlay, minister of national revenue;
  • Shelly Glover, minister of Canadian heritage and official languages;
  • Chris Alexander, minister of citizenship and immigration;
  • Kellie Leitch, minister of labour and minister of status of women;
  • Maxime Bernier, minister of state for small business and tourism, and agriculture;
  • Lynne Yelich, minister of state for foreign affairs and consular services;
  • Gary Goodyear, minister of state for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario;
  • Rob Moore, minister of state for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency;
  • John Duncan, minister of state and chief government whip;
  • Tim Uppal, minister of state for multiculturalism;
  • Alice Wong, minister of state for seniors;
  • Bal Gosal, minister of state for sport;
  • Kevin Sorenson, minister of state for Finance;
  • Pierre Poilievre, minister of state for democratic reform;
  • Candice Bergen, minister of state for social development;
  • Greg Rickford, minister of state for science and technology, and Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario;
  • Michelle Rempel, minister of state for western economic diversification.
Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to