Skip to main content

The Globe and Mail

Newfoundland's Dunderdale unveils leaner cabinet

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Kathy Dunderdale talks to media outside her home in St.John's, Monday, Sept.19, 2011.


Premier Kathy Dunderdale has trimmed the size of Newfoundland and Labrador's cabinet to 16 members from 19, saying the move is in line with her commitment to greater efficiency and prudent spending.

Ms. Dunderdale and her cabinet were sworn in during a ceremony Friday at Government House, just over two weeks after the Progressive Conservatives won a third consecutive majority in the Oct. 11 provincial election.

"It is very important to me that our government operates as efficiently as possible, while providing quality programs and services that meet the needs of the people of our province," she said in a release.

Story continues below advertisement

Ms. Dunderdale also announced the formation of two new departments — the Department of Advanced Education and Skills and the Department of Innovation, Business and Rural Development.

She also named three rookies to her cabinet — Nick McGrath at intergovernmental affairs and Labrador affairs, Paul Davis takes over Service Newfoundland and Labrador, and Keith Hutchings is minister of innovation, business and rural affairs.

Among Dunderdale's notable appointments, Thomas Marshall returns as finance minister and Felix Collins stays on as justice minister and attorney general.

Susan Sullivan is the province's new health minister and Clyde Jackman moves to education from fisheries.

Here is a list of newly appointed cabinet members in Newfoundland and Labrador:

Kathy Dunderdale — Premier.

Joan Burke — Advanced education and skills, minister responsible for persons with disabilities and youth engagement.

Story continues below advertisement

Charlene Johnson — Child, youth and family services, minister responsible for the status of women.

Clyde Jackman — Education.

Terry French — Environment and conservation, minister responsible for the Labour Relations Agency, Multi-Materials Stewardship Board and the Office of Climate Change, Energy Efficiency and Emissions Trading.

Thomas Marshall — Finance, Treasury Board president, minister responsible for the Public Service Secretariat, Public Service Commission and the Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corp.

Darin King — Fisheries and aquaculture, deputy government house leader.

Susan Sullivan — Health and community services, and minister responsible for aging and seniors, francophone affairs.

Story continues below advertisement

Nick McGrath — Intergovernmental and aboriginal affairs, minister responsible for Labrador affairs, and the voluntary and non-profit sector.

Keith Hutchings — Innovation, business and rural development, minister responsible for the rural secretariat and Research Development Corp.

Felix Collins — Justice, attorney general.

Kevin O'Brien — Municipal affairs, minister responsible for fire and emergency services, registrar general.

Jerome Kennedy — Natural resources, government house leader, minister responsible for the Forestry and Agrifoods Agency.

Paul Davis — Service Newfoundland and Labrador, minister responsible for the Government Purchasing Agency, Office of the Chief Information Officer, and the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission.

Derrick Dalley — Tourism, culture and recreation.

Tom Hedderson — Transportation and works, minister responsible for the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corp.

Report an error
As of December 20, 2017, we have temporarily removed commenting from our articles. We hope to have this resolved by the end of January 2018. Thank you for your patience. If you are looking to give feedback on our new site, please send it along to If you want to write a letter to the editor, please forward to